Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
HILL, Julian ChristopherBiography for HILL, Julian Christopher

Member for Bruce (Vic)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Bruce, Victoria, 2016. Re-elected 2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 15.9.2016 (Deputy Chair from 31.7.2019).

Joint Standing: Trade and Investment Growth from 15.9.2016 to 25.10.2017; Public Works from 21.5.2018 to 10.9.2018; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 23.7.2019; Migration from 23.7.2019.

Party Positions

President of the Australian Labor Party local branch.

Delegate to the Australian Labor Party State Conference (Vic.).

Secretary of the Australian Labor Party local branch.

Member of the Australian Labor Party from 1993.


Born 1973, Melbourne, Australia

Not married

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

Company Directors' Course (Order of Merit).

BSc (Monash University).

GradCertArts(IR) (Deakin University).

LLB (Monash University).

Electorate Officer, Alan Griffin MP, 1995-2000.

Mayor, City of Port Phillip, 2000-02.

Executive Director/ Senior Roles, Vic Department of Sustainability and Environment, 2002-07.

Executive Director, Vic Department of Planning and Community Development, 2007-13.

Executive Director, Vic Department of State Development, Business and Innovation, 2013-14.

Executive Director, Vic Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources, 2014-16.

Local Government Service

Councillor, Sandridge Ward, City of Port Phillip from 1999 to 2004.

Mayor, City of Port Phillip from 2000 to 2002.


Executive Fellows Program, Australia and New Zealand School of Government, 2008.

Fellow, Institute of Public Administration Australia (Victorian Division) 2012 (FIPAA (Vic)).


Name: Bruce

Location: The Division of Bruce consists of: part of the Casey City Council, and part of the Greater Dandenong City Council.

Area: 95 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 109,195 (at 5.6.2019)

Industries: Commercial, warehousing, light engineering, manufacturing, transport and retail.