Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
SUDMALIS, Ann ElizabethBiography for SUDMALIS, Ann Elizabeth

Member for Gilmore (NSW)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Gilmore, New South Wales, 2013. Re-elected 2016. Retired prior to general elections 2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 11.2.2015 to 2.2.2016.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; National Disability Insurance Scheme from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019.

Joint Select: Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse from 5.2.2018 to 29.11.2018.

House of Representatives Standing: Education and Employment from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Health from 4.12.2013 to 2.2.2016; Indigenous Affairs from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019 (Chair from 25.1.2018 to 11.4.2019); Infrastructure, Transport and Cities from 15.6.2017 to 11.4.2019 (Supplementary member from ).

Party Positions

Member of the Liberal Party from 2006.

Vice-President of the Liberal Party State Electorate Council from 2009 to 2011.

Delegate to the Liberal Party Women's Council from 2010 to 2012.

Treasurer of the Liberal Party local branch from 2010 to 2012.


Born 16.9.1955, Milton, Australia

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

CertIVVisualArts ().

DipEd (Campaspe College of Adult Education).

MEd (Charles Sturt University).

BSc (Australian National University).

Waitress, cook and cleaner from 1974 to 1977.

High school science teacher from 1979 to 1988.

Director of a family manufacturing business from 1988 to 2003.

Volunteer teacher in India, 2003.

Director of a family manufacturing business from 2004 to 2005.

Community art teacher, 2006.

Electorate officer from 2007 to 2012.

Tutor at the University of Wollongong, 2011.

Local Government Service

Councillor, Kiama Municipal Council from 1995 to 1999.


Name: Gilmore

Location: south-eastern New South Wales; it includes the towns and suburbs of Bawley Point, Batemans Bay, Berry, Callala Bay, Cunjurong, Currarong, Fishermans Paradise, Gerroa, Kiama, Malua Bay, Mogo, Moruya, Nowra, Sussex Inlet, Tomerong, Tuross Head, and Ulladulla.

Area: 6,342 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 115,878 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: tourism, timber, dairy and beef cattle, paper mill, brickworks, light engineering, dairy products, steel fabrication and fishing.