Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
URQUHART, Anne ElizabethBiography for URQUHART, Anne Elizabeth

Senator for Tasmania

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the Senate for Tasmania 2010 (term began 1.7.2011) and 2016.

Committee Service

Senate Standing: Privileges from 1.7.11 to 9.5.16 and from 1.9.16 to 1.12.16; Regulations and Ordinances from 1.7.11 to 21.9.11; House from 1.9.16; Procedure from 1.9.16 to 14.9.16.

Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing: Economics: Legislation Committee from 1.7.11 to 11.11.13; Rural Affairs and Transport: Legislation Committee from 1.7.11 to 27.6.12 and References Committee from 6.7.11 to 27.6.12; Community Affairs: References Committee from 12.11.13 to 6.3.14; Education and Employment: References Committee from 12.11.13 to 7.7.14; Environment and Communications: Legislation Committee from 12.11.13 to 9.5.16 and from 1.9.16 and References Committee from 1.7.14 to 9.5.16 and from 1.9.16 (Chair from 9.7.14 to 9.5.16).

Senate Select: Australia's Food Processing Sector from 1.7.11 to 16.8.12; School Funding from 12.12.13 to 9.7.14; Abbott Government's Budget Cuts from 26.6.14 to 9.5.16 (renamed Scrutiny of Government Budget Measures on 11.8.15); Wind Turbines from 1.12.14 to 3.8.15; Resilience of Electricity Infrastructure in a Warming World from 10.11.16; Murray-Darling Basin Plan, substitute member from 8.12.15 to 9.12.15.

Joint Statutory: Public Works from 1.7.11 to 11.11.13; Corporations and Financial Services from 27.6.12 to 5.8.13.

Joint Standing: Treaties from 1.7.11 to 21.6.12; National Disability Insurance Scheme from 1.7.14 to 9.5.16; National Broadband Network from 15.9.16.

Joint Select: Australia's Clean Energy Future Legislation from 14.9.11 to 7.10.11; DisabilityCare Australia from 18.6.13 to 5.8.13.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Deputy Opposition Whip in the Senate from 18.10.13 to 9.5.16.

Opposition Whip in the Senate from 1.9.16.

Party Positions

Vice-President, ALP (Tas.) from 2004.

Member, Administrative Committee, ALP (Tas.).

Secretary, ALP Brighton-Bridgewater Branch.

Delegate, ALP State Conference (Tas.).

Delegate, ALP National Conference.


Born 18.10.1957, Latrobe, Tas.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

Process worker 1979-90.

Organiser, Food Preservers' Union 1990-98.

President, Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union (Tas.) 1998-2004.

Secretary, Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union (Tas.) 2004-10.