Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
PRENTICE, the Hon. JaneBiography for PRENTICE, the Hon. Jane

Member for Ryan (Qld)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Ryan, Queensland, 2010. Re-elected 2013 and 2016.

Parliamentary Appointments

Parliamentary Representative, Advisory Council on Australian Archives from 24.2.11

Member, Expert Panel on the Constitutional Recognition of Local Government from 8.8.11 to 1.12.11

Parliamentary Positions

Member, Speaker's Panel from 12.2.15 to 9.5.16

Ministerial Appointments

Assistant Minister for Disability Services from 18.2.2016 to 19.7.2016.

Assistant Minister for Social Services and Disability Services from 19.7.2016 to 28.8.2018.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 25.2.2014 to 2.2.2016.

Joint Standing: Treaties from 9.10.2012 to 25.2.2014; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 22.9.2014 to 2.2.2016; Electoral Matters from 13.10.2015 to 23.2.2016 (Chair from 13.10.2015 to 23.2.2016); National Broadband Network from 11.9.2018 (Chair from 12.9.2018).

House of Representatives Standing: Infrastructure and Communications from 25.10.2010 to 13.10.2015 (Chair from 9.12.2013 to 13.10.2015); Petitions from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Petitions from 10.9.2018; Procedure from 10.9.2018; Selection from 10.9.2018.

Party Positions

Vice-President, NSW Young Liberal Movement

Chairman, Mosman Young Liberal Branch

Chairman, Toowong Young Liberal Branch

Chairman, Taringa Liberal Party Branch

Member, Liberal Party State Women's Council Executive (Qld)

Hon. Secretary, Warringah Federal Electorate Council

Secretary, Coalition Policy Committee on Communications

Member, Coalition Policy Committee on Rural and Regional Affairs

Member, Young Liberal State Executive (NSW) 1973-77

Member, Liberal Party State Executive (NSW) 1976-77

Member, Young Liberal State Executive (Qld) 1979-80

Member, Liberal National Party Policy Standing Committee 2009-10


Born 22.6.1953, Melbourne, Australia.


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament



Personal Assistant to State Director, Country Party (NSW)

Staff member to the Minister for Education, Senator the Hon. Sir JL Carrick

Office manager, QCOM Pty Ltd

Director, Brisbane Visitors and Convention Bureau

Business Manager, Australian Telecommunications User Group (ATUG) Queensland

Managing Director, Conventions Queensland

Member, Brisbane City Council 2000-10

Leader of the Opposition, Brisbane City Council 2007-08

Chairman, Public and Active Transport and Economic Development Committee 2010

Local Government Service

Member, Brisbane City Council from 2000 to 2010.

Leader of the Opposition, Brisbane City Council from 2007 to 2008.


Description: Outer Metropolitan

Location: south-western Brisbane; it includes the suburbs of Anstead, Bellbowrie, Brookfield, Chapel Hill, Chuwar, Dorrington, Enoggera, Enoggera Reservoir, Ferny Grove, Fig Tree Pocket, Gaythorne, Grovely, Indooroopilly, Ironside, Karana Downs, Kenmore, Kenmore Hills, Keperra, Kholo, Mitchelton, Moggill, Mt Coot-tha, Mt Crosby, Oxford Park, Peewee Bend, Pinjarra Hills, Priors Pocket, Pullenvale, Rainworth, Rosalie, St Johns Wood, St Lucia, Taringa, The Gap, Toowong, Torwood, Upper Brookfield, Upper Kedron and parts of Ashgrove, Auchenflower, Bardon, Paddington and Lake Manchester.

Area: 441 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 105037 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: mainly residential and acreage suburbs with some commercial and retail activities; includes the University of Queensland, Brisbane's television transmitters on Mount Coot-tha.