Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
RUDDOCK, the Hon. Philip MaxwellBiography for RUDDOCK, the Hon. Philip Maxwell

Member for Berowra (NSW) 1993-2016.

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Parramatta, New South Wales, at by-election 22.9.1973, vice the Hon. NH Bowen (resigned).

Re-elected 1974 and 1975.

Re-elected following the 1977 electoral redistribution for Dundas, New South Wales, 1977, 1980, 1983, 1984, 1987 and 1990.

Re-elected following the 1992 electoral redistribution for Berowra, New South Wales, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013. Retired prior to general elections 2016.

Parliamentary Appointments

Parliamentary Representative on the Council of the Australian National University from 24.3.76 to 11.3.96; on the Council of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies from 28.2.78 to 21.4.83 and on the Australian Council for Union Training from 26.2.81 to 4.2.83.

Parliamentary Positions

Deputy Chair of Committees from 19.9.85 to 12.5.89.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs from 11.3.96 to 26.11.01.

Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs from 26.11.01 to 7.10.03.

Minister for Administrative Services from 25.9.97 to 9.10.97.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Reconciliation from 21.10.98 to 30.1.01 and from 26.11.01 to 7.10.03.

Minister for Reconciliation and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 30.1.01 to 26.11.01.

Attorney-General from 7.10.03 to 3.12.07.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Aboriginal Affairs from 12.3.74 to 4.2.83 (Chair from 6.4.76 to 4.2.83); Road Safety from 18.7.74 to 10.11.77; Members' Interests from 23.9.87 to 8.2.93; Privileges and Members Interests from 23.5.12; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 8.10.87 to 15.6.89; Community Affairs from 12.5.93 to 29.1.96; Selection from 22.3.11 to 9.5.16; Appropriations and Administration from 4.12.13 to 13.5.15; House from 4.12.13 to 14.9.15.

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts from 29.11.85 to 1.6.89; Intelligence and Security from 12.3.08 to 9.5.16; Corporations and Financial Services from 15.6.15 to 9.5.16.

Joint Standing: Australian Capital Territory from 12.5.83 to 26.10.84; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 20.10.87 to 19.2.90 and from 11.3.08; New Parliament House from 12.5.83 to 26.10.84; Migration Regulations (formerly Joint Select) from 15.6.89 to 8.2.93; Migration from 26.5.93 to 29.1.96; Human Rights from 3.3.15 to 9.5.16.

Joint Select: Aboriginal Land Rights in the Northern Territory from 10.12.76 to 28.2.77 and from 15.3.77 to 18.8.77; Family Law Act from 12.10.78 to 28.8.80 (Chair from 18.10.78 to 28.8.80); Telecommunications Interception from 24.6.86 to 20.11.86.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 16.3.83 to 9.9.85 and from 12.5.89 to 11.3.96. Shadow Minister for the Australian Capital Territory and Shadow Minister Assisting the Opposition Leader on Public Service Matters from 16.3.83 to 14.12.84; Immigration and Ethnic Affairs from 14.12.84 to 9.9.85 and from 12.5.89 to 7.4.93; Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader of the Opposition on Ethnic Affairs from 11.4.90 to 7.4.93; Shadow Minister for Social Security from 7.4.93 to 11.3.96; and Senior Citizens from 31.1.95 to 11.3.96.

Shadow Cabinet Secretary from 8.12.09 to 14.9.10.

Chief Government Whip from 18.9.13 to 23.2.15.

Party Positions

President, Young Liberals (NSW) 1971-72.

Federal Chair, Young Liberal Movement 1973-74.

Member, Liberal Party State Executive (NSW) 1971-74 and 1982-85 and 1994-95.

Member, Liberal Party Federal Executive (NSW) 1973-74 and 1982-86.

Other Positions

President, Amnesty International Parliamentary Group 1974-78; Secretary 1990-96.

Special Envoy on Citizenship and Community Engagement from 28.5.15.


Born 12.3.1943, Canberra, ACT.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

BA, LLB (Syd).



Description: outer metropolitan.

Location: north-western Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Arcadia, Berowra, Brooklyn, Cheltenham, Cherrybrook, Cowan, Dangar Island, Galston, Glenorie, Maroota, Middle Dural, Mount Kuring-gai, Normanhurst, Pennant Hills, Sackville North, Thornleigh, Westleigh and parts of Asquith, Beecroft, Carlingford, Castle Hill, Cattai, Dural, Hornsby, Lower Portland, Maraylya, Mount Colah, West Pennant Hills and Wisemans Ferry.

Area: 782 sq km (approx.).

Electors enrolled: 96 947 (at 7.9.13).

Industries: fishing and oyster farming, retail, service and various small industries including hobby farming, citrus fruit orchards, poultry farming, horticulture and tourism.

State electorates: Berowra includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Castle Hill, Epping, Hawkesbury and Hornsby.