Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

   15   My Health Records Amendment (Strengthening Privacy) Bill 2018

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time— And on the amendment moved thereto by Ms C. F. King, viz.— That all words after “That” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“whilst not declining to give the bill a second reading, the House calls on the Government to suspend the ‘opt out’ phase of the My Health Record rollout until other privacy and security concerns are addressed”—

Debate resumed.

Question—That the amendment be agreed to—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—


AYES, 67

Mr Albanese

Mr Conroy

Dr M. J. Kelly

Ms Plibersek

Dr Aly

Mr Dick

Mr Keogh

Ms Rishworth

Mr Bandt

Mrs Elliot

Mr Khalil

Ms Rowland

Ms Bird

Ms Ellis

Ms C. F. King

Ms Ryan*

Mr Bowen

Mr Fitzgibbon

Ms M. M. H. King

Mr Shorten

Ms Brodtmann

Dr Freelander

Ms Lamb

Mr Snowdon

Mr Burke

Mr Georganas

Dr Leigh

Ms Stanley

Ms Burney

Mr Giles

Ms McBride

Mr Swan

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Gorman

Mr Marles

Ms Swanson

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Gosling

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Ms Templeman

Mr Byrne

Mr Hart

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Mr Thistlethwaite

Dr Chalmers

Mr Hayes

Mr Neumann

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Champion

Mr Hill

Mr O’Connor

Mr Watts

Ms L. M. Chesters

Ms Husar

Ms O’Neil

Mr Wilkie

Mr Clare

Mr Husic

Ms O’Toole

Mr J. H. Wilson

Ms Claydon

Ms Kearney

Ms Owens

Mr Zappia

Ms Collins

Ms Keay

Mr Perrett*


NOES, 72

Mr Abbott

Mr Evans

Ms M. L. Landry

Ms Price

Mr Alexander

Mr Falinski

Mr C. A. S. Laundy

Mr Pyne

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Fletcher

Ms Ley

Mr Ramsey*

Mr K. J. Andrews

Ms Flint

Mr Littleproud

Mr Robert

Ms Banks

Mr Gee

Mr McCormack

Ms Sharkie

Ms Bishop

Dr Gillespie

Ms McGowan

Mrs Sudmalis

Mr Broad

Mr Goodenough

Dr McVeigh

Mr Sukkar

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hartsuyker

Mrs Marino

Mr Taylor

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hastie

Mr Morrison

Mr Tehan

Mr D. J. Chester

Ms Henderson

Mr Morton

Mr Tudge

Mr Christensen

Mr Hogan

Mr Ted O’Brien

Mr van Manen

Mr Ciobo

Mr Howarth

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mr Vasta

Mr Coleman

Mr Hunt

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Wallace

Mr Coulton

Mr Irons

Ms O’Dwyer

Mrs Wicks

Mr Crewther

Mr Joyce

Mr Pasin

Mr R. J. Wilson

Mr Drum*

Mr Keenan

Mr Pitt

Mr Wood

Mr Dutton

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Porter

Mr Wyatt

Mr Entsch

Mr Laming

Mrs Prentice

Mr Zimmerman

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Question—That the bill be now read a second time—put and passed—bill read a second time.

Leave granted for third reading to be moved immediately.

On the motion of Mr Hunt (Minister for Health), the bill was read a third time.