Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

   16 Treasury Laws Amendment (GST Low Value Goods) Bill 2017

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed by Mr Bowen who moved, as an amendment—That all words after “That” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“whilst not declining to give the bill a second reading, the House:

(1)    notes:

(a)    there is in-principle support in the Parliament for reforming the GST Low Value Threshold, and giving Australian retailers a level playing field with their overseas competitors;

(b)   despite being introduced in the 2016 Budget, the Parliament is only debating this bill with less than a month to go before its proposed start date;

(c)    the Government has completely mismanaged the implementation of this measure; and

(d)   there is wide stakeholder dissatisfaction with the proposed model, with stakeholders saying:

(i)    the proposed model will be complex and costly to administer;

(ii)   there will be unfavourable impacts on consumers with the costs of implementation being passed on; and

(iii)  there will be issues surrounding compliance; and

(2)    calls on the Government to:

(a)    delay implementation of this measure for one year in order to get the measure right; and

(b)   conduct a Productivity Commission review in order to determine the best method to implement this measure, with a report back to the Parliament by the end of 2017”.

Debate ensued.

Question—That the amendment be agreed to—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—

AYES, 70

Mr Albanese

Mr Dick

Dr M. J. Kelly

Ms Owens

Dr Aly

Mr Dreyfus

Mr Keogh

Mr Perrett*

Mr Bandt

Mrs Elliot

Mr Khalil

Ms Rishworth

Ms Bird

Ms Ellis

Ms C. F. King

Ms Rowland

Mr Bowen

Mr Feeney

Ms M. M. H. King

Ms Ryan*

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Fitzgibbon

Ms Lamb

Ms Sharkie

Mr Burke

Dr Freelander

Dr Leigh

Mr Snowdon

Ms Burney

Mr Georganas

Ms McBride

Ms Stanley

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Giles

Ms McGowan

Mr Swan

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Gosling

Ms Macklin

Ms Swanson

Mr Byrne

Mr Hammond

Mr Marles

Ms Templeman

Dr Chalmers

Mr Hart

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr Champion

Mr Hayes

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Ms Vamvakinou

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Hill

Mr Neumann

Mr Watts

Mr Clare

Ms Husar

Mr O’Connor

Mr Wilkie

Ms Claydon

Mr Husic

Ms O’Neil†

Mr J. H. Wilson

Ms Collins

Mr Jones

Ms O’Toole

Mr Zappia

Mr Conroy

Ms Keay


NOES, 73

Mr Abbott

Mr Fletcher

Mr Laming

Mr Pyne

Mr Alexander

Ms Flint

Ms M. L. Landry

Mr Ramsey*

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Frydenberg

Mr C. A. S. Laundy

Mr Robert

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Gee

Mr Leeser

Mrs Sudmalis

Ms Banks

Dr Gillespie

Ms Ley

Mr Sukkar

Ms Bishop

Mr Goodenough

Mr Littleproud

Mr Taylor

Mr Broad

Mr Hartsuyker

Mr McCormack

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hastie

Dr McVeigh

Mr Tudge

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hawke

Mrs Marino

Mr Turnbull

Mr D. J. Chester

Ms Henderson

Mr Morrison

Mr van Manen

Mr Christensen

Mr Hogan

Mr Morton

Mr Vasta

Mr Coleman

Mr Howarth

Mr Ted O’Brien

Mr Wallace

Mr Coulton

Mr Hunt

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mrs Wicks

Mr Crewther

Mr Irons

Mr O’Dowd

Mr R. J. Wilson

Mr Drum*

Mr Joyce

Mr Pasin

Mr T. R. Wilson

Mr Dutton

Mr Katter

Mr Porter

Mr Wood

Mr Entsch

Mr Keenan

Mrs Prentice

Mr Wyatt

Mr Evans

Mr C. Kelly

Ms Price

Mr Zimmerman

Mr Falinski


* Tellers

† Proxy

And so it was negatived.

Question—That the bill be now read a second time—put and passed—bill read a second time.

Leave granted for third reading to be moved immediately.

On the motion of Mr Sukkar (Assistant Minister to the Treasurer), the bill was read a third time.