Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

      7   Veterans’ Affairs Legislation Amendment Bill 2012

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time— And on the amendment moved thereto by Mr Robert, viz.— That all words after “That” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words: “the House declines to consider this bill until such time as the Government introduces legislation to index military superannuation pensions for Defence Forces Retirement Benefit (DFRB) Scheme members and Defence Force Retirement and Death Benefits (DFRDB) Scheme members aged 55 and over in the same manner as aged and service pensions are currently indexed.”—

Debate resumed.


Mr Snowdon (Minister for Veterans’ Affairs), presented the following document:

Defence pension merits—Copy of article, Nick Minchin, The Australian , 2 May 2012.

Question—That the amendment be agreed to—put.


The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Ms A. E. Burke, in the Chair)—

AYES, 68

Mr Alexander

Mr Fletcher

Mr McCormack

Mr Ruddock

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Forrest

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Schultz

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Frydenberg

Ms Marino

Mr Scott

Mr Baldwin

Ms Gambaro

Mrs Markus

Mr Secker*

Mr Billson

Mrs Griggs

Mr Matheson

Mr Simpkins

Ms J. I. Bishop

Mr Haase

Mrs Mirabella

Mr A. D. H. Smith

Mr Briggs

Mr Hartsuyker

Mr Morrison

Dr Southcott

Mr Broadbent

Mr A. G. Hawke

Mrs Moylan

Dr Stone

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hockey

Mr Neville

Mr Tehan

Mr Chester

Mr Hunt

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Truss

Mr Christensen

Mr Irons

Mrs Prentice

Mr Tudge

Mr Ciobo

Dr Jensen

Mr Pyne

Mr Turnbull

Mr Cobb

Mr E. T. Jones

Mr Ramsey

Mr van Manen

Mr Coulton*

Mr Keenan

Mr Randall

Mr Vasta

Mr Crook

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Robb

Dr Washer

Mr Dutton

Mr Laming

Mr Robert

Mr Wilkie

Mr Entsch

Ms Ley

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Wyatt

NOES, 69

Mr Adams

Mr Dreyfus

Ms King

Ms Roxon

Mr Albanese

Mrs Elliot

Dr Leigh

Mr Rudd

Mr Bandt

Ms Ellis

Ms Livermore

Ms Saffin

Ms Bird

Dr Emerson

Mr Lyons

Mr Shorten

Mr Bowen

Mr L. D. T. Ferguson

Mr McClelland

Mr Sidebottom

Mr Bradbury

Mr M. J. Ferguson

Ms Macklin

Mr S. F. Smith

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Marles

Ms Smyth

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Garrett

Mr Mitchell

Mr Snowdon

Mr Butler

Mr Georganas

Mr Murphy

Mr Swan

Mr Byrne

Mr Gibbons

Mr Neumann

Mr Symon

Mr Champion

Mr Gray

Ms O’Neill

Mr C. R. Thomson

Mr Cheeseman

Ms Grierson

Ms Owens

Mr K. J. Thomson

Mr Clare

Ms Hall*

Ms Parke

Ms Vamvakinou

Ms Collins

Mr Hayes*

Mr Perrett

Mr Windsor

Mr Combet

Mr Jenkins

Ms Plibersek

Mr Zappia

Mr Crean

Mr S. P. Jones

Mr Ripoll


Mr Danby

Mr Katter

Ms Rishworth


Mrs D’Ath

Dr M. J. Kelly

Ms Rowland


* Tellers


Ms Gillard                      Mr Abbott

Mr Husic                        Ms O’Dwyer

Mr O’Connor                 Mrs Gash

Mr Griffin                      Mr Somlyay

Mr Melham                    Mrs B. K. Bishop

And so it was negatived.

Question—That the bill be now read a second time—put and passed—bill read a second time.

Message from the Governor-General

Message No. 281, 26 June 2012, from Her Excellency the Governor-General was announced recommending an appropriation for the purposes of the bill.

Leave granted for third reading to be moved immediately.

On the motion of Mr Snowdon, the bill was read a third time.