Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

      7   QUESTIONS

Questions without notice being asked—

Member named and suspended

The Speaker named the Member for Warringah (Mr Abbott) for defying the Chair.

Mr Albanese (Leader of the House) moved—That the Member for Warringah be suspended from the service of the House.



The House divided (the Speaker, Mr Jenkins, in the Chair)—

AYES, 80

Mr Adams

Mr Debus

Dr Kelly

Mr Ripoll

Mr Albanese

Mr Dreyfus

Mr Kerr

Ms Rishworth

Mr Bevis

Mrs Elliot

Ms Livermore

Ms Roxon

Mr Bidgood

Ms K. M. Ellis

Mr McClelland

Mr Rudd

Ms Bird

Dr Emerson

Ms McKew

Ms Saffin

Mr Bowen

Mr L. D. T. Ferguson

Ms Macklin

Mr Shorten

Mr Bradbury

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr McMullan

Mr Sidebottom

Ms A. E. Burke

Mr Garrett

Mr Marles

Mr S. F. Smith

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Georganas

Mr Melham

Mr Snowdon

Mr Butler

Ms George

Mr Murphy

Mr Sullivan

Mr Byrne

Mr Gibbons

Ms Neal

Mr Swan

Ms Campbell

Ms Gillard

Mr Neumann

Mr Symon

Mr Champion

Mr Gray

Mr O’Connor

Mr Tanner

Mr Cheeseman

Ms Grierson

Ms Owens

Mr C. R. Thomson

Mr Clare

Mr Griffin

Ms Parke

Mr K. J. Thomson

Ms Collins

Mr Hale

Mr Perrett

Mr Trevor

Mr Combet

Ms Hall*

Ms Plibersek

Mr Turnour

Mr Crean

Mr Hayes*

Mr Price

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Danby

Mrs Irwin

Mr Raguse

Mr Windsor

Mrs D’Ath

Ms Jackson

Ms Rea

Mr Zappia

NOES, 62

Mr Abbott

Mrs Gash

Ms Marino

Mr Scott

Mr Andrews

Mr Georgiou

Mrs Markus

Mr Secker

Mr Baldwin

Mr Haase

Mrs May

Mr Simpkins

Mr Billson

Mr Hartsuyker

Mrs Mirabella

Mr Slipper

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mr A. G. Hawke

Mr Morrison

Mr A. D. H. Smith

Ms J. I. Bishop

Mr Hockey

Mrs Moylan

Mr Somlyay

Mr Briggs

Mrs Hull*

Dr Nelson

Dr Southcott

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hunt

Mr Oakeshott

Dr Stone

Mr Chester

Mr Irons

Mr Pearce

Mr Truss

Mr Ciobo

Dr Jensen

Mr Pyne

Mr Tuckey

Mr Cobb

Mr Johnson*

Mr Ramsey

Mr Turnbull

Mr Costello

Mr Keenan

Mr Randall

Mrs Vale

Mr Coulton

Mr Laming

Mr Robb

Dr Washer

Mr Dutton

Ms Ley

Mr Robert

Mr Wood

Mr Farmer

Mr Lindsay

Mr Ruddock


Mr Forrest

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Schultz


* Tellers


Ms A. L. Ellis                 Mr Hawker

Mr M. J. Ferguson         Fran Bailey

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

The Member was, therefore, suspended at 2.32 p.m. for 24 hours under standing order 94, and he accordingly left the Chamber.

Questions without notice continuing—

Member directed to leave

At 3.28 p.m. the Member for North Sydney (Mr Hockey) was directed, under standing order 94, to leave the Chamber for one hour for continuing to interject after a warning had been given from the Chair, and he accordingly left the Chamber.

Questions without notice continued.