Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Questions without notice being asked—


Mr Howard (Prime Minister) presented the following papers:

Bali terrorist attack of 12 October 2002—Report by the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security—

Annex 2—Agency responsibilities.

Introduction and summary, December 2002.

Questions without notice continuing—


Mr Crean (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, presented the following papers:

Media releases—The Hon. Peter Reith, MP, Minister for Defence—

Advice of decision not to contest the next election, 29 June 2001.

Defence integrated distribution system, 9 July 2001.

Questions without notice continuing—

Member ordered to withdraw

At 3.42 p.m. the Member for Hunter (Mr Fitzgibbon) was ordered, under standing order 304A, to withdraw from the House for one hour for continuing to interject after a warning had been given from the Chair. Mr Fitzgibbon continuing to interject—

Member named and suspended

The Speaker named the Member for Hunter (Mr Fitzgibbon).

Mr Abbott (Leader of the House) moved—That the Member for Hunter be suspended from the service of the House.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr J. N. Andrew, in the Chair)—

AYES, 78

Mr AbbottMrs DraperMrs D. M. KellyMr Ruddock
Mr AndersonMr DuttonJackie KellyMr Schultz
Mr K. J. AndrewsMrs ElsonDr KempMr Secker
Mr AnthonyMr EntschMr P. E. KingMr Slipper
Fran BaileyMr FarmerMrs LeyMr A. D. H. Smith
Mr BairdMr Forrest*Mr LindsayMr Somlyay
Mr BaldwinMrs GallusMr LloydDr Southcott
Mr BarresiMs GambaroMr McArthur*Mr C. P. Thompson
Mr BartlettMrs GashMr I. E. MacfarlaneMr Ticehurst
Mr BillsonMr GeorgiouMr McGauranMr Tollner
Mrs B. K. BishopMr HaaseMrs MayMr Truss
Ms J. I. BishopMr HardgraveMrs MoylanMr Tuckey
Mr BroughMr HartsuykerMr NairnMr M. A. J. Vaile
Mr CadmanMr HawkerDr NelsonMrs D. S. Vale
Mr CameronMr HockeyMr NevilleMr Wakelin
Mr CharlesMr HowardMs PanopoulosDr Washer
Mr CioboMrs HullMr PearceMr Williams
Mr CobbMr HuntMr ProsserMs Worth
Mr CostelloMr JohnsonMr Pyne
Mr DownerMr JullMr Randall

NOES, 62

Mr AdamsMr M. J. FergusonMs LivermoreMr Ripoll
Mr AlbaneseMr FitzgibbonMr McClellandMs Roxon
Mr BeazleyMs GeorgeMs J. S. McFarlaneMr Rudd
Mr BevisMr GibbonsMs MacklinMr Sawford
Ms BurkeMs GillardMr McLeayMr Sciacca
Mr ByrneMs GriersonMr McMullanMr Sercombe
Ms CorcoranMr GriffinMr MelhamMr Sidebottom
Mr CoxMs HallMr MossfieldMr S. F. Smith
Mr CreanMr HattonMr MurphyMr Snowdon
Mrs CrosioMs HoareMs O'ByrneMr Swan
Mr Danby*Mrs IrwinMr B. P. O'ConnorMr Tanner
Mr EdwardsMs JacksonMr G. M. O'ConnorMr K. J. Thomson
Ms EllisMr JenkinsMr OrganMr Wilkie
Mr EmersonMr KerrMs PlibersekMr Zahra
Mr EvansMs C. F. KingMr Price
Mr L. D. T. FergusonMr LathamMr Quick*

* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

The Member was, therefore, suspended at 3.52 p.m. for 24 hours under standing order 305, and he accordingly withdrew from the Chamber.

Questions without notice continued.