Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

   13 Treasury Laws Amendment (Accelerated Depreciation for Small Business Entities) Bill 2018

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed by Mr Thistlethwaite who moved, as an amendment—That all words after “That” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“whilst not declining to give the bill a second reading, the House notes that unlike the Government’s company tax cut plan, the Opposition’s Australian Investment Guarantee will provide targeted tax relief for businesses that invest in Australia and Australians, and guarantees new investment”.

Debate ensued.

Question—That the amendment be agreed to—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—


AYES, 60

Mr Albanese

Mr Conroy

Mr Jones

Ms O’Toole

Dr Aly

Mr Danby

Ms Kearney

Ms Owens

Mr Bandt

Mr Dick

Mr Keogh

Mr Perrett*

Ms Bird

Mr Dreyfus

Mr Khalil

Ms Plibersek

Mr Bowen

Mrs Elliot

Ms C. F. King

Ms Rowland

Ms Burney

Mr Fitzgibbon

Ms M. M. H. King

Ms Ryan*

Mr M. C. Butler

Dr Freelander

Dr Leigh

Ms Stanley

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Georganas

Ms McBride

Mr Swan

Mr Byrne

Mr Giles

Ms Macklin

Ms Swanson

Dr Chalmers

Mr Gosling

Mr Marles

Ms Templeman

Mr Champion

Mr Hart

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Mr Thistlethwaite

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Hayes

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Clare

Mr Hill

Mr Neumann

Mr Watts

Ms Claydon

Ms Husar

Mr O’Connor

Mr Wilkie

Ms Collins

Mr Husic

Ms O’Neil

Mr Zappia

NOES, 71

Mr Abbott

Mr Evans

Mr C. Kelly

Ms Price

Mr Alexander

Mr Falinski

Mr Laming

Mr Pyne

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Fletcher

Ms M. L. Landry*

Mr Ramsey*

Mr K. J. Andrews

Ms Flint

Mr C. A. S. Laundy

Mr Robert

Ms Banks

Mr Frydenberg

Ms Ley

Mrs Sudmalis

Ms Bishop

Mr Gee

Mr Littleproud

Mr Sukkar

Mr Broad

Dr Gillespie

Mr McCormack

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Mr Goodenough

Ms McGowan

Mr Tudge

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hartsuyker

Mrs Marino

Mr Turnbull

Mr D. J. Chester

Mr Hastie

Mr Morrison

Mr van Manen

Mr Christensen

Mr Hawke

Mr Morton

Mr Vasta

Mr Ciobo

Ms Henderson

Mr Ted O’Brien

Mr Wallace

Mr Coleman

Mr Hogan

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mrs Wicks

Mr Coulton

Mr Howarth

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr R. J. Wilson

Mr Crewther

Mr Hunt

Mr Pasin

Mr T. R. Wilson

Mr Drum

Mr Irons

Mr Pitt

Mr Wyatt

Mr Dutton

Mr Katter

Mr Porter

Mr Zimmerman

Mr Entsch

Mr Keenan

Mrs Prentice


* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Question—That the bill be now read a second time—put and passed—bill read a second time.

Consideration in detail

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole.

Mr Bandt, by leave, moved amendments (1) to (6) together.

Amendments negatived.

Bill agreed to.

Consideration in detail concluded.

On the motion of Mr Sukkar (Assistant Minister to the Treasurer), by leave, the bill was read a third time.