Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The President informed the Senate that he had received a letter from the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Chaney) advising that this day he intended to move-""That in the opinion of the Senate the following is a matter of urgency:

The urgent need for a Mini Budget to reverse the disastrous Hawke Government policies that have produced high interest rates, huge increases in the price of essential items such as the family car, the highest tax burden in Australia's peace time history and a crippling foreign debt.''.

And at least 4 Senators having risen in support of the motion-

Senator Chaney thereupon moved the motion.

Debate ensued.

Question put.

The Senate divided

AYES, 38

Senators- Alston Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Hamer Hill Jessop Kilgariff Knowles Lewis MacGibbon Macklin Mason Messner Newman Parer Powell Puplick Reid (Teller) Sanders Sheil Short Siddons Teague Townley Vigor Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 30

Senators- Aulich Black Button Childs Coates Coleman Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Gietzelt Giles Jones (Teller) McIntosh McKiernan Maguire Morris Ray Reynolds Richardson Robertson Sibraa Tate Walsh West Zakharov

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.