Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The President informed the Senate that he had received a letter from the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Chaney) advising that this day he intended to move-""That in the opinion of the Senate the following is a matter of urgency:

The need to abolish the Fringe Benefits Tax because of the extra cost burden it imposes on business, industry and the rural community, its unfair impact on relatively low income earners such as bank officers and the effect it will have on voluntary, charitable, religious and educational organisations and institutions.''.

And at least 4 Senators having risen in support of the motion-

Senator Chaney thereupon moved the motion.

Debate ensued.


AYES, 29

Senators- Archer Baume, Michael Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Jessop Kilgariff Knowles Lewis MacGibbon Messner Newman Parer Puplick Reid (Teller) Sheil Short Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson

NOES, 36

Senators- Aulich Black Childs Coates Coleman Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Foreman Georges Giles Grimes Jones McClelland McIntosh (Teller) McKiernan Macklin Maguire Mason Morris Powell Ray Reynolds Richardson Robertson Ryan Sanders Sibraa Siddons Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

And so it was negatived.

Pursuant to Sessional Order, consideration of Government Papers was called on.