Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The President informed the Senate that he had received a letter from Senator Peter Baume advising that this day he intended to move-That in the opinion of the Senate the following is a matter of urgency:

""The need for the Government to abandon its anti-investment taxation measures, particularly the capital gains tax, which have created the housing crisis presently facing Australian families''.

And at least 4 Senators having risen in support of the motion-

Senator Peter Baume thereupon moved the motion.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided

AYES, 28

Senators- Alston Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Kilgariff (Teller) Lewis MacGibbon Messner Newman Parer Puplick Reid Sheil Short Teague Vanstone Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 36

Senators- Black Childs Coates Coleman Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Jones McClelland McIntosh McKiernan Macklin Maguire Mason Powell Ray Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sanders Sibraa Siddons Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

And so it was negatived.

Pursuant to Sessional Order, consideration of Committee Reports was called on.