Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of the Minister for Industry, Technology and Commerce (Senator Button)-That this Bill be now read a second time-And on the amendment moved thereto by Senator Messner, viz: At end of motion, add "", but the Senate-

(a) expresses its concern that the level of discounting of superannuation, Defence Forces Retirement Benefits (DFRB) and Defence Force Retirement and Death Benefits (DFRDB) pensions imposed by the legislation has not yet been proposed in a National Wage Case, let alone given effect by a decision of the Australian Conciliation and Arbitration Commission, and notes that:

(i) the Bill imposes on Commonwealth superannuants, without consultation, a burden greater than that proposed for the community generally, in that it will come into effect before equivalent discounting of wages is even considered,

(ii) discounting of DFRB and DFRDB pensions further erodes conditions of service in the Australian Defence Force (ADF) at a time when ADF resignations are at near-crisis level, and

(iii) the Bill breaks, for the second time, Labor's 1983 election promise not to cut DFRB and DFRDB benefits; and

(b) calls on the Government to direct the Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal, as a matter of urgency, to inquire into the adequacy of pay and conditions of service in the ADF compared with those in the private sector and public service''.

Debate resumed.

Question-That the words proposed to be added be added-put.

The Senate divided

AYES, 32

Senators- Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Jessop Kilgariff Knowles MacGibbon Macklin Mason Messner Newman Parer Powell Puplick Reid Sheil (Teller) Short Siddons Teague Townley Vanstone Vigor Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 27

Senators- Aulich Black Childs Coleman Colston Cook Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Giles Grimes Jones McClelland McIntosh McKiernan Maguire Ray Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sibraa Tate Walsh Zakharov

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Main Question, as amended-put.

The Senate divided

AYES, 53

Senators- Archer Aulich Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Bjelke-Petersen Black Boswell Childs Coleman Collard Colston Cook Crichton-Browne Crowley Devlin Durack Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Giles Grimes Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Jessop Jones Kilgariff Knowles McClelland MacGibbon McIntosh McKiernan Maguire Messner Newman Parer Puplick Ray Reid Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sheil Short Sibraa Tate Teague Townley Vanstone Walsh Walters Watson Withers Zakharov


Senators- Haines Harradine Macklin (Teller) Mason Powell Siddons Vigor

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Bill read a second time.

The Senate, according to Order, resolved itself into Committee for the consideration of the Bill.

In the Committee

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, debated and agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The Acting Deputy-President (Senator Coleman) resumed the Chair; and the Temporary Chairman of Committees (Senator Bjelke-Petersen) reported accordingly.

On the motion of the Minister for Finance (Senator Walsh) the Report from the Committee was adopted, and the Bill read a third time.