Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The President informed the Senate that he had received a letter from the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Chaney) advising that this day he intended to move-That in the opinion of the Senate the following is a matter of urgency:

""The need during the current Parliamentary sittings for a Mini Budget which contains measures necessary to restore confidence in the Australian economy''.

And at least 4 Senators having risen in support of the motion-

Senator Chaney thereupon moved the motion.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided

AYES, 35

Senators- Alston Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Jessop Kilgariff (Teller) Knowles MacGibbon Macklin Mason Messner Newman Parer Powell Puplick Reid Sanders Sheil Short Siddons Townley Vanstone Vigor Watson Withers

NOES, 30

Senators- Aulich Black Childs Coleman Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Harradine Jones McClelland McIntosh McKiernan Maguire Morris Ray Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Sibraa Tate Walsh Zakharov

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Pursuant to Sessional Order, consideration of Government Papers was called on.