Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The Deputy-President informed the Senate that the President had received a letter from the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Chaney) advising that this day he intended to move-That in the opinion of the Senate the following is a matter of urgency: ""The need for the highest taxing government in Australia's history to abandon its destructive, anti-investment and anti-incentive fringe benefits and capital gains taxes''.

And at least 4 Senators having risen in support of the motion-

Senator Chaney thereupon moved the motion.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided

AYES, 30

Senators- Alston Archer Baume, Michael Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Hill Jessop Kilgariff Lewis MacGibbon Messner Newman Parer Puplick Reid (Teller) Sheil Short Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 36

Senators- Aulich Black Bolkus Childs Coates Coleman Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Jones McKiernan Macklin Maguire Mason Morris Ray Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sibraa Siddons Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

And so it was negatived.