Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of the Minister for Community Services (Senator Grimes)-That this Bill be now read a second time.

Debate resumed.

Question-put and passed.

Bill read a second time.

The Senate, according to Order, resolved itself into Committee for the consideration of the Bill.

In the Committee

Clauses 1 to 8, by leave, taken together.

Senator Messner moved an amendment, viz: Page 1, sub-clause 2 (1), line 8, leave out ""Sub-section 4 (1), section 5 and sub-section 6 (1)'', insert ""Sub-section 4 (1) and section 5''.

Debate ensued.

Question-That the words proposed to be left out be left out-put.

The Committee divided-

AYES, 27

Senators- Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Hill Jessop Knowles Lewis Messner Newman Puplick Sheil (Teller) Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 33

Senators- Aulich Black Bolkus Childs Chipp Coates Coleman Colston Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Jones (Teller) McKiernan Macklin Maguire Morris Ray Richardson Robertson Ryan Sanders Sibraa Siddons Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

Amendment negatived accordingly.

Clauses 1 to 8 agreed to.

Clause 9 read-

Senator Siddons moved an amendment, viz: Page 6, paragraphs (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f) and (g), lines 23 to 40, leave out the paragraphs, insert the following paragraphs:

""(a) by omitting sub-section (1) and substituting the following sub-section:

"(1) The Trust shall consist of 5 members, as follows:

(a) a full-time principal member nominated by the Minister;

(b) a full-time member nominated, in accordance with sub-section (5), by the Australian Council of Trade Unions;

(c) 3 part-time members elected, in accordance with the regulations, by all eligible employees by secret ballot conducted by the Australian Electoral Commission.

"(1a) The regulations made for the purpose of paragraph (1) (c) shall prescribe for elections held under that paragraph a system of election which is, as nearly as practicable, the same as the Hare-Clark proportional representation system set out in Schedule 4 of the Electoral Act 1907 of Tasmania.';

(b) by omitting sub-sections (3), (4), (5) and (6) and substituting the following sub-sections:

"(3) The members nominated under paragraphs 1 (a) and (b) shall be persons with knowledge and expertise in finance, industrial relations, superannuation and investment.

"(4) The members elected under paragraph (1) (c)-

(a) shall be nominated by no less than 200 eligible employees; and

(b) shall provide, at the time of their nomination, a written statement of their knowledge and expertise in the matters referred to in sub-section (3).

"(5) The Australian Council of Trade Unions shall not nominate a person for appointment under sub-section (1) unless the Australian Council of Trade Unions has consulted the relevant industrial organizations in relation to the nomination.

"(6) Each member of the Trust shall hold office for 5 years.';''.

Debate ensued.

Question-That the words proposed to be left out be left out-put and negatived.

Amendment negatived accordingly.

Clause 9 further debated and agreed to.

Remainder of Bill, by leave, taken as a whole and agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The Acting Deputy-President (Senator Giles) resumed the Chair; and the Chairman of Committees (Senator Hamer) reported accordingly.

On the motion of the Minister for Finance (Senator Walsh) the Report from the Committee was adopted, and the Bill read a third time.

And it being 2 p.m.-