Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The President informed the Senate that he had received a letter from Senator Peter Baume advising that this day he intended to move-That in the opinion of the Senate the following is a matter of urgency: ""The need for the Government to abandon its commitment to use Commonwealth Constitutional powers to achieve national Aboriginal land rights''.

And at least 4 Senators having risen in support of the motion-

Senator Peter Baume thereupon moved the motion.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided

AYES, 31

Senators- Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Hill Jessop Kilgariff Knowles Lewis MacGibbon Missen Parer Puplick Reid (Teller) Sheil Short Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 37

Senators- Aulich Black Bolkus Childs Chipp Coates Coleman Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Haines Jones McClelland McIntosh McKiernan Macklin Maguire Morris Ray Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sanders Sibraa Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

And so it was negatived.

Pursuant to Sessional Order, consideration of Government Papers was called on.