Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Order of the Day, by leave, read for the adjourned debate on the motion of Senator Robertson-That the Senate take note of the Report and on the amendment moved thereto by Senator Crichton-Browne, viz: Leave out all words after ""That'', insert ""the Senate-

(a) accepts the necessity for the interior finish of the Senate Chamber in the new Parliament House to maintain in suitable form the dignity and atmosphere of the present Chamber;

(b) considers that it is appropriate for the new Chamber to have a basically wood-panelled appearance, taking advantage of, and making use of the wide range of timbers to be found throughout Australia; and

(c) rejects the proposal, recently revealed to Senators, for the walls of the new Chamber to be lined with fabric of varying colours, not consistent with the traditional red colour common to Westminster-style Upper Houses''.

Debate resumed.

Leave refused: The Minister for Resources and Energy (Senator Evans) sought leave to continue his speech.

Objection being raised, leave not granted.

Debate continued.

Senator Robertson moved-That the debate be now adjourned.


The Senate divided

AYES, 34

Senators- Aulich Black Bolkus Childs Chipp Coates Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Jones McIntosh McKiernan Macklin Maguire Morris Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sanders Sibraa Vigor Walsh Zakharov

NOES, 27

Senators- Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Boswell Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hill Jessop Kilgariff Knowles MacGibbon Missen Parer Puplick Rae, Peter Reid (Teller) Sheil Short Tate Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be an Order of the Day for the next day of sitting.