Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Chaney), by leave, moved-That the following matter be referred to the Standing Committee on Industry and Trade: The proposed establishment of inwards duty-free shops, and its impact on customs administration and barrier control.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided

AYES, 33

Senators- Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Bjelke-Petersen Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Kilgariff Lewis MacGibbon Messner Missen Parer Puplick Rae, Peter Reid (Teller) Sheil Short Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 37

Senators- Aulich Black Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Jones McIntosh McKiernan Macklin Maguire Mason Morris Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sanders Sibraa Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

And so it was negatived.