Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of Senator Puplick-That the Customs Regulations (Amendment), as contained in Statutory Rules 1985 No. 71 and made under the Customs Act 1901, be disallowed.

Debate resumed.


The Senate divided

AYES, 25

Senators- Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Hill Jessop Lewis MacGibbon Messner Parer Puplick Rae, Peter Reid Sheil (Teller) Teague Vanstone Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 33

Senators- Aulich Black Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Haines Jones McClelland McIntosh (Teller) Maguire Mason Morris Robertson Ryan Sanders Sibraa Siddons Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

And so it was negatived.