Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of the Minister for Education (Senator Ryan)-That this Bill be now read a second time.

Debate resumed.


The Senate divided

AYES, 34

Senators- Aulich Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans, Gareth Evans, Jack Foreman Georges Giles Jones McClelland McKiernan Macklin Maguire Mason Primmer Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sibraa Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

NOES, 27

Senators- Archer Baume Boswell Brownhill Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hill Kilgariff (Teller) Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Messner Missen Parer Puplick Reid Scott Sheil Short Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson Withers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Bill read a second time.

The Senate, according to Order, resolved itself into Committee for the consideration of the Bill.

In the Committee

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole and agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The President resumed the Chair; and the Temporary Chairman of Committees (Senator Scott) reported accordingly.

On the motion of the Minister for Finance (Senator Walsh) the Report from the Committee was adopted, and the Bill read a third time.