Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of the Minister for Community Services (Senator Grimes)-That these Bills be now read a first time.

Question-put and passed.

Bills read a first time.

The Minister for Resources and Energy (Senator Gareth Evans) moved-That these Bills be now read a second time.

Papers: The Minister for Resources and Energy (Senator Gareth Evans) tabled the following Papers: Export inspection arrangements for Canned and Frozen Fruit and Vegetables and Honey- Department of Primary Industry-Reports, dated July 1984.

Interim Inspection Policy Council-Report on Inquiry, dated July 1984.

Senator Collard moved an amendment, viz: At end of motion, add '', but the Senate is of the opinion that excessive increases in export inspection charges over the past 2 years have seriously damaged the export competitiveness of Australian agricultural industries in a period of intense world competition against other nations which do not impose these export cost burdens''.

Debate ensued.

Question-That the words proposed to be added be added-put.

The Senate divided

AYES, 34

Senators- Archer Baume Boswell Brownhill Chaney Chipp Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Evans, Jack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Hamer Hill Jessop Kilgariff Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Macklin Mason Missen Parer Puplick Reid Scott Sheil (Teller) Short Teague Townley Vanstone Vigor Watson Withers

NOES, 29

Senators- Aulich Black Bolkus Childs Coates Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans, Gareth Foreman Giles Grimes Jones McClelland McIntosh McKiernan Maguire Primmer Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sibraa Tate Zakharov

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Main Question, as amended-put.

The Senate divided

AYES, 56

Senators- Archer Aulich Baume Black Bolkus Boswell Brownhill Chaney Childs Coates Collard Colston Cook Cooney Crichton-Browne Crowley Devlin Durack Elstob Evans, Gareth Foreman Giles Grimes Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Hill Jones Kilgariff Lajovic Lewis McClelland MacGibbon McIntosh McKiernan Maguire Missen Parer Primmer Puplick Ray, Robert Reid Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Scott Sheil Short Sibraa Tate Teague Townley Vanstone Watson Withers Zakharov


Senators- Chipp Evans, Jack Haines Macklin (Teller) Mason Vigor

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Bills read a second time.

The Senate, according to Order, resolved itself into Committee for the consideration of the Bills.

In the Committee

Bills, by leave, taken as a whole and agreed to.

Bills to be reported without amendment or requests.

The President resumed the Chair; and the Chairman of Committees (Senator Hamer) reported accordingly.

On the motion of Senator Grimes the Report from the Committee was adopted, and the Bills read a third time.

And it being 2 p.m.-