Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The Senate, according to Order, resolved itself into Committee for the consideration of the Bills.

In the Committee

Bills, by leave, taken as a whole.

Senator Jack Evans, by leave, moved the following requests together:

That the House of Representatives be requested to make the following amendments in the Sales Tax (Nos 1 to 4 and 9) Amendment Bills 1984, viz: Page 2, sub-clause 3 (1), proposed new paragraph 4 (d), line 8, leave out ''10%'', insert ''2.5%''.

Debate ensued.

Question-That the requests be agreed to-put.

The Committee divided-


Senators- Chipp Evans, Jack Haines Macklin (Teller) Mason

NOES, 53

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Bolkus Button Carrick, Sir John Chaney Childs Coates Coleman Collard Cook Crichton-Browne Crowley Durack Elstob Evans, Gareth Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Harradine Hearn Hill Jessop Jones Kilgariff Lajovic Lewis McClelland MacGibbon McIntosh Maguire Martin Missen Primmer Ray, Robert Reid Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Scott Sibraa Tate Teague Townley Walsh Walters Watson Withers Zakharov

Requests negatived accordingly.

Bills agreed to.

Bills to be reported without requests.

The President resumed the Chair; and the Temporary Chairman of Committees (Senator Townley) reported accordingly.

On the motion of the Minister for Resources and Energy (Senator Walsh) the Report from the Committee was adopted, and the Bills read a third time.