Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The President informed the Senate that he had received a letter from the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Chaney) advising that this day he intended to move-''That in the opinion of the Senate the following is a matter of urgency: The need for the Government to repeal the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Heritage (Interim Protection) Act because it is the wrong way to protect Aboriginal sacred sites and because of the conflict it is causing between Aboriginals and governments and between State and Federal Governments.''.

And at least 4 Senators having risen in support of the motion- Senator Chaney thereupon moved the motion.

Debate ensued.

Paper: Senator Chaney, by leave, laid upon the Table the following Paper:

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander heritage legislation-Statement by the Acting Premier for Western Australia, Mr Mal Bryce, dated 2 August 1984.

Debate continued.

Paper: The Minister for Education and Youth Affairs (Senator Ryan), laid upon the Table the following Paper:

Land Rights-The Frightening Facts-background paper.

Debate continued.


The Senate divided

AYES, 26

Senators- Baume Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Kilgariff (Teller) Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Martin Messner Missen Rae, Peter Reid Scott Teague Walters Withers

NOES, 32

Senators- Bolkus Childs Chipp Coates Colston Cook Crowley Elstob Evans, Gareth Evans, Jack Foreman Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Hearn Jones McClelland McIntosh Macklin Maguire Mason Primmer Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sibraa Tate Walsh Zakharov

And so it was negatived.

Pursuant to Sessional Order, consideration of Government Papers was called on.