Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of Senator Missen-That the Senate- (a) deplores the decision of the Victorian Government to close (and sell) 4 hostels which were used for the accommodation of more than 200 country students in the Melbourne metropolitan area;

(b) condemns the failure of the Australian and Victorian Governments to accede to widespread complaints made by rural councils, student organisations and concerned parents against this decision which is a clear breach of ALP education policy; and

(c) urges the Australian Government to reach early agreement with the Victorian Government to provide for the continued financing of the hostels so that essential facilities exist for country students seeking to acquire tertiary education.

Debate resumed.


The Senate divided

AYES, 31

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Carrick, Sir John Chaney Chipp Crichton-Browne Evans, Jack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Hamer Harradine Hill Kilgariff Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Macklin Martin Mason Messner Missen Rae, Peter Reid (Teller) Scott Teague Townley Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 27

Senators- Bolkus Childs Coates Coleman Colston Cook Crowley Elstob Evans, Gareth Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Hearn Jones McIntosh (Teller) Maguire Primmer Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson Ryan Tate Walsh Zakharov

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And it being 6.30 p.m.-