Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of the Leader of the National Party of Australia in the Senate (Senator Scott)-That the resumption of the debate on the motion-That this Bill be now read a second time-be an Order of the Day for the first sitting day after 1 May 1984.

Debate resumed.


The Senate divided

AYES, 31

Senators- Archer Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Carrick, Sir John Chaney Chipp Collard (Teller) Crichton-Browne Durack Evans, Jack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Kilgariff Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Macklin Martin Mason Missen Rae, Peter Reid Scott Townley Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 27

Senators- Coates Coleman Colston Cook Crowley Elstob Evans, Gareth Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Hearn Jones McClelland McIntosh (Teller) Maguire Primmer Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson Ryan Sibraa Tate Walsh Zakharov

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.