Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Question, by leave-That this Bill be now read a second time-again put, and passed.

Bill read a second time.

The Senate, according to Order, resolved itself into Committee for the consideration of the Bill.

In the Committee

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole and agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The President resumed the Chair; and the Temporary Chairman of Committees (Senator Coleman) reported accordingly.

On the motion, by leave, of Senator Hamer the Report from the Committee was adopted.

Senator Hamer, by leave, moved-That this Bill be now read a third time.


The Senate divided

AYES, 27

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Carrick, Sir John Chaney Chipp Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Evans, Jack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Hamer Hill Jessop Kilgariff (Teller) Lajovic Lewis Macklin Mason Messner Missen Reid Teague Townley Walters Withers

NOES, 24

Senators- Bolkus Button Childs Coates Coleman Colston Crowley Evans, Gareth Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Hearn Jones (Teller) McClelland Maguire Primmer Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson Sibraa Tate Zakharov

The third reading not having been carried by an absolute majority of the Senate, as required by the Constitution, the Bill, in acordance with Standing Order 242, was forthwith laid aside.