Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The Deputy-President (Senator Hamer), under Sessional Order, put the Question- That the Senate do now adjourn.

Joint Committees-House of Representatives Membership: Senator Hamer informed the Senate that, pursuant to the Resolutions agreed to by both Houses, the President had received letters from the Leader of the House and the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Representatives nominating Members of the House of Representatives to serve on Joint Committees, as follows: Joint Committee on the Australian Capital Territory: Mr Fry, Mr Hollis, Mrs Kelly, Mr McGauran, Mr Ruddock and Mr Snow.

Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence: Mr Bilney, Mr Charles, Mr Coleman, Mr Cross, Mr R. F. Edwards, Mr Gayler, Mr Groom, Mr Jacobi, Mr Katter, Dr Klugman, Mr Lusher, Mr MacKellar, Mr Morrison and Mr Shipton.

Joint Committee on the New Parliament House: Mr Dobie, Mrs Kelly, Mr Lloyd, Mr McLeay, Mrs Mayer and Mr Ruddock.

Joint Select Committee on Electoral Reform: Mr Griffiths, Mr Hall, Mr Hunt, Dr Klugman and Mr Scott.

Joint Select Committee on Parliamentary Privilege: Mr Adermann, Mr Griffiths, Mr Holding, Mr Jones and Mr Spender.

Debate ensued.

Question-resolved in the affirmative.

The Senate adjourned at 8.13 p.m. till tomorrow at 11.30 a.m.