Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Senator Mason moved-That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as would prevent Senator Mason moving a motion relating to the order of business on the Notice Paper.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided-

AYES, 28

Senators- Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Colston Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines McClelland McIntosh McLaren Macklin Mason Missen Mulvihill Ray, Robert Robertson Ryan Siddons Tate Walsh Teller: Senator Sibraa

NOES, 26

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Bonner Carrick, Sir John Chaney Crichton-Browne Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Martyr Messner Reid Scott Teague Townley Walters Watson Withers Young Teller: Senator Kilgariff

The President announced the result of the Division and stated that, there not being an absolute majority of the whole number of Senators in favour of the motion, as required by Standing Order 448, the motion was not carried.