Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The Senate, according to Order, resolved itself into Committee for the further consideration of the Bill.

In the Committee

Clause 23 further considered.

Question-That the clause stand as printed-put. The Committee divided-

AYES, 27

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Bonner Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Harradine Hill Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Martin Martyr Messner Missen Reid Scott Thomas Townley Walters Watson Young Teller: Senator Kilgariff

NOES, 27

Senators- Bolkus Childs Chipp Coates Colston Elstob Evans Foreman Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Hearn Jones Keeffe McClelland McIntosh Macklin Mason Primmer Ray, Robert Ryan Sibraa Siddons Tate Walsh Teller: Senator Robertson

The Ayes and Noes being equal, clause 23 negatived accordingly.

Clauses 24 to 41, by leave, taken together and agreed to.

Clauses 42 and 43, by leave, taken together, debated and negatived.

Remainder of Bill, by leave, taken as a whole and agreed to.

Bill to be reported with amendments.

The Acting Deputy-President (Senator Hamer) resumed the Chair; and the Chairman of Committees (Senator McClelland) reported accordingly. On the motion of the Minister for Education (Senator Peter Baume) the Report from the Committee was adopted, and the Bill read a third time.