Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Monday, 7 March 2005
Page: 177

Senator Allison asked the Minister representing the Minister for Education, Science and Training, upon notice, on 30 November 2004:

(1)   Which schools received National Safe Schools Framework (NSSF) grants in 2004.

(2)   Which schools will receive NSSF grants in 2005.

(3)   When will the 2004 grants be evaluated.

Senator Vanstone (Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Indigenous Affairs) —The Minister for Education, Science and Training has provided the following answer to the honourable senator’s question:

(1) (2)   and (3) The National Safe Schools Framework (NSSF) Best Practice Grants project is one of the measures the Australian Government has instigated to support the implementation of the NSSF. The Project is being managed by the Alannah and Madeline Foundation (AMF) with support from the National Coalition Against Bullying. It involves schools - either individually or in clusters - selecting, implementing and showcasing effective, evidence based best practice programmes to address bullying, harassment, violence, child abuse, neglect prevention and intervention strategies. Individual schools have received a grant of up to $5,000 and clusters have received a grant of up to $20,000.

168 schools across Australia were selected to participate in the Australian Government’s NSSF best practice grants project. A list of successful schools is attached (Attachment A).

The grants apply to the period July 2004 to December 2005 and were made as a once only payment to schools. All grants have now been expended by the AMF.

The AMF will provide a Project Schools NSSF Best Practice Report to the Department upon completion of the project in December 2005. The report will be a synthesis of key findings and significant learnings of project schools, including approaches and outcomes used and individual case studies of project schools. The report will be disseminated to all schools to help them to refine their programmes and strategies to suit local circumstances.


National Safe Schools Framework (NSSF) Best Practice Grant Schools


Asquith Girls High School

Balmain Public School

Birchgrove Public School

Brookvale Public School

Chatham High School, Taree

Cherrybrook Technology High School

Covenant Christian School

Engadine Public School

Forbes North Public School

Heathcote Public School

John Wycliffe Christian School

Holy Spirit College

Illawarra Christian School - Tongarra Campus

Illawarra Christian School - Cordeaux Heights

Lake Cargelligo Central School

Nicholson Street Public School, Balmain East

Nowra High School

Red Bend Catholic College, Forbes

Rozelle Public School

St Agatha’s Primary School

St Finbarr’s, Byron Bay

St John’s Primary School, Mullumbimby

St Joseph’s Primary School, Woodburn

St Maroun’s College, Dulwich Hill

St Peter’s Catholic College, Tuggerah

Southern Highlands Christian School

Speers Point Public School

Sussex Inlet Public School


Avonvale Primary School

Braeside Primary School

Broomehill Primary School

Coodanup Community College

Donnybrook District High School

Halls Head Community College

Hampton Park Primary School

John Forrest Senior High School, Morley

Katanning Primary School

Katanning Senior High School

Mandurah High School

Mirrabooka Primary School

Mirrabooka Senior High School

Mirrabooka Education Support Centre

Pinjarra Primary School

Pinjarra Senior High School

Weld Square Primary School

Westminster Junior Primary School

West Northam Primary School

Woodanilling Primary School

Yakamia Primary School, Albany


Acton Primary School

Bridgewater Primary School

Bridgewater High School

Brighton Primary School

East Ulverstone Primary School

Forth Primary School

Latrobe High School

Lindisfarne North Primary School

Montello Primary School

Mount Faulkner Primary School

Oatlands District High School

Ogilvie High School

Parklands High School

Penguin Primary School

Riana Primary School

Sprent Primary School

Ulverstone Primary School

Upper Burnie Primary School

West UIverstone Primary School

Wilmot Primary School


Bakewell Primary School

Bradshaw Primary School

Casuarina Street Primary School, Katherine

Clyde Fenton Primary School

Darwin Adventist Primary School

Dripstone High School

Gillen Primary School

Gray Primary School

Katherine South Primary School

Moulden Park Primary School

O’Loughlin Catholic College

Parap Primary School

Ross Park Primary School

Sadadeen Primary School

Stuart Park Primary School

Tennant Creek Primary School

Tennant Creek High School


Adass Israel School

Altona Gardens Primary School

Aspendale Gardens Primary School

Baringa Special School, Moe

Binbadeen Primary School

Commercial Road Primary School, Morwell

The Currajong School

Donburn Primary School

Geelong Grammar School (Glamorgan)

Jamieson Primary School

Maldon Primary School

Mansfield Primary School

Mansfield Secondary College

Merrijig Primary School

Milgate Primary School

Morwell Primary School

Plenty Valley Montessori School

Scotch College

St Joseph’s College, Ferntree Gully

Stawell West Primary School

Stonnington Primary School

Templestowe Heights Primary School

Westbourne Grammar School


Biboohra State School

Cairns Adventist School

Carlisle Christian College, Mackay

Emerald State High School

Glenmorgan State School

The Gums State School

Hannaford State School

Innisfail State School

Kuluin State School

Mareeba State School

Maroochydore State School

Maroochydore State High School

Marsden State School

Meandarra State School

Moonie State School

Mountain Creek State School

Pacific Paradise State School

Riverside Christian School, Townsville

Rochedale State High School

Rochedale South State School

St. Margaret’s Anglican Girls School

St. Joseph’s School, Tara

Shalom Christian College

South Burnett Catholic College

South Johnstone State School

Tara State School

Teelba State School

Westmar State School

Windaroo Valley State High School


Allenby Gardens Primary School

Blanchetown Primary School

Cadells Primary School

Christian Brother College

Davoren Park Primary School

East Torrens Primary School

Findon High School

The Hills Montessori School

Morgan Primary School

O’Sullivan Beach Primary School

Pedare Christian College

Ramco Primary School

St Francis Primary School, Lockleys

St Patrick’s Primary School, Mansfield Park

Smithfield Plains Junior Primary School

Swallowcliffe Junior Primary School

Swallowcliffe Primary School

Waikerie Children’s Centre

Waikerie Primary School

Waikerie High School

Westport Primary School

Whitefriars Primary School


The Canberra College

Charnwood Primary School

Gowrie Primary School

Lyneham Primary School

Malkara School

Melba High School

North Ainslie Primary School

St Francis Xavier College