Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Leading researchers advise on the indicators of research quality.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Ministers for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research

LEADING RESEARCHERS ADVISE ON THE INDICATORS OF RESEARCH QUALITY The Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research, Senator Kim Carr, and CEO of the Australian Research Council (ARC), Margaret Sheil, today announced the establishment of an Indicators Development Group (IDG) to advise on the application of discipline-specific indicators for the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative.

“The IDG will consider, test and recommend appropriate discipline-specific indicators, including metrics and other proxies of quality, applied research and activity,” Senator Carr said.

The Group is made up of twelve research metrics and statistical experts. Three of these experts are from overseas.

Terry Nolan, Head of the School of Population Health at the University of Melbourne and Associate Dean in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, has taken up the role of Chair for the IDG.

“Terry’s previous experience as a member of National Health and Medical Research Council’s Research Committee means that he has made significant contribution to the measurement of research quality in Australia. I am positive that Terry will help produce good outcomes for the ERA initiative,” Senator Carr said.

To help the IDG provide advice on all disciplines, two sub-committees have been created—one for the Creative Arts and the other for the Humanities.

“Professor Margaret Seares has taken up the position of Chair for the Creative Arts sub-committee, and Professor Stuart Macintyre has taken up the position of Chair for the Humanities sub-committee,” Professor Sheil said.

“Together with the IDG, these sub-committees will ensure that the best possible indicators for each discipline are applied to the ERA initiative.”

Professor Seares is the Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University of Western Australia. She holds a PhD from the University of Western Australia in Music, with her field of specialty being the keyboard music of the 18th century.

Professor Macintyre is Ernest Scott Professor of History at the University of Melbourne. He has held this position for 18 years.

Information on the IDG and sub-committees membership is available on the ARC website

Innovation Minister > Senator the Hon Kim Carr

Media Release

Senator the Hon Kim Carr

18 Aug 2008

Media contacts: Catriona Jackson Minister's office 0417 142 238 Sheena Ireland ARC 0412 623 056