Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
ISAF-led multinational effort in Uruzgan.

Download PDFDownload PDF


Issued by Ministerial Support and Public Affairs, Department of Defence, Canberra, ACT Phone: 02 6127 1999, Fax: 02 6265 1545 Media Releases are available via e-mail if you register at

MSPA 334/10 Monday, 2 August 2010

ISAF-led multinational effort in Uruzgan

The ISAF-led multinational Combined Team-Uruzgan took command of International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) troops in Uruzgan Province on Sunday 1 August, after four years of Dutch command.

Combined Team-Uruzgan Commander, Colonel Jim Creighton (US Army), led a ceremony at the Multi-National Base Tarin Kowt attended by the Acting Governor for Uruzgan, Khodai Rahim Kahn and Commander of Australia’s Joint Task Force,

Major General John Cantwell.

During his address to around 250 ISAF and Afghan National Army personnel, Colonel Creighton (US Army), praised the Dutch and Australian efforts under Task Force Uruzgan to improve the living and security conditions for the local people.

“The expansion of roads and bridges, the effectiveness of the Afghan National Security Forces, and enhanced security are examples of the improvements made by the hard work and efforts of Dutch and Australian personnel working with the Uruzgan leaders and people,” Colonel Creighton said.

Colonel Creighton said that the ceremony ushered in an increased presence of American forces in the region, who will build upon the stable foundation the Dutch created over the past four years.

“I am looking forward to building on the exceptional work that the Dutch and Australians have undertaken so far in Uruzgan.” he said.

Combined Team-Uruzgan includes around 1800 US, Australian, Singaporean, Slovakian, New Zealand, and French personnel.

Media note: Imagery of the ceremony is available at:

Relevant vision will be fed through to the Parliament House Press Gallery as it becomes available.

Media contact: Defence Media Liaison: (02) 6127 1999 or 0408 498 664