Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Excellence in engineering honoured.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release


13 November, 2003

Outstanding achievement in engineering was recognised and rewarded at the Australian Engineering Excellence Awards, presented last night by Australian Government Science Minister Peter McGauran at Parliament House in Canberra.

Mr McGauran congratulated Engineers Australia in promoting quality in the profession through the programme, which included awards for engineering excellence, environmental excellence, innovation and the prestigious Sir William Hudson Award.

“This year’s Sir William Hudson Award went to The University of Newcastle’s Science and Engineering Challenge,” Mr

McGauran said.

“The University was recognised for its achievement in presenting science and technology to senior secondary school students in an inspirational way. More than 4000 students in 120 schools have taken part in the challenge this year.”

Mr McGauran presented awards for projects by companies including Leighton Contractors and Brisbane City Council and Maunsell Australia, who combined to complete the $220 million Inner City Bypass, which provides a vital east-west link around Brisbane’s city fringe.

“Multiplex Constructions and partners were rewarded for construction of the Western Australian Maritime Museum while the Warren Centre for Advanced Engineering received its award for coordinating and publishing the $4 million project Sustainable Transport in Sustainable Cities,” Mr McGauran said.

“Hyder Consulting, Federation Square Management, AHW Consulting Engineers (Vic), Bonacci Group, Atelier One and Multiplex partnered for the four-year $450 million Federation Square project, one of the most complex and ambitious building construction projects ever undertaken in Australia.

“The Cooperative Research Centre for Satellite Systems also won with Australia’s Centenary Satellite - (FedSat), Australia’s first national satellite in over 30 years.

“I congratulate all the winners, who through these awards are promoting the development of best practice in

engineering to secure the future prosperity of Australia,” Mr McGauran concluded.

For more information about the awards visit

Further information: Fiona McDonald (Minister McGauran’s office) 02 6277 7440 or 0419 622 915