Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Expert group to help grow horticulture sector.

Download PDFDownload PDF

BACK Home | Media Releases DAFF07/083PM - 25 June 2007

Expert group to help grow horticulture sector

A new leadership group has been formed to help steer Australia’s $7 billion horticulture sector towards a strategic vision for its future.

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Peter McGauran, said the leadership group, comprising of industry representatives from growers through to buyers, will provide expert guidance for the industry’s Horticulture Strategic Plan.

The Australian Government has matched the horticulture sector’s $900,000 investment in the strategic plan under the Industry Partnerships Programme.

“These industry leaders will represent the views of more than 40 horticulture industries, including producers, processors and retailers, addressing the challenging issues faced by a sector that employs over 100,000 people,” Mr McGauran said.

“The strategic plan is an important initiative given the horticulture sector’s current situation of substantial production growth in some industries, the severe effects of the drought and increased global competition.

“With the farm gate value of horticulture production expected to top $7.2 billion this year, the plan will improve the sector’s ability to manage its challenges and shape its long-term decision making and funding priorities.”

Respected agribusiness director and economic consultant, David Trebeck, has been appointed the Chairman of the 26-member Leadership Group.

“This is a vitally important initiative that will drive production, competitiveness and value-adding for decades to come,” Mr McGauran said.

Industry research and development body, Horticulture Australia Ltd, will provide secretariat support for the Leadership Group which will meet regularly throughout the project.

A list of Leadership Group members is attached.





David Trebeck Director

A Commissioner of the National Water Commission

Industry research organisation representatives Nigel Steele Scott Chairman Horticulture Australia Limited

Craig Gordois Director Horticulture Australia Limited

John Webster Managing Director Horticulture Australia Limited

Warwick Scherf General Manager Horticulture Australia Limited

David Chenu Portfolio Manager Horticulture Australia Limited

Stuart Swaddling Chairman Horticulture Australia Council

Kris Newton Chief Executive Officer Horticulture Australia Council

Industry representatives Jon Durham Managing Director Apple and Pear Australia Limited

Judith Damiani Executive Director Australian Citrus Growers

Julie Haslett Chief Executive Officer Almond Board of Australia

David De Paoli Managing Director Austchilli

Tony Ford Agricultural Director McCain Foods (Aust) Pty Ltd

David Mathews Owner/manager Proteaflora

Cameron MacKay Owner/manager MacKay’s family bananas

Henry Kwaczynski Chairman Avocados Australia

Ian Hay Chairman Cherry Growers of Australia Inc

Michael Batycki Senior Business Manager Woolworths Limited

Peter Sillcock

Group Merchandise Manager Coles Supermarkets Pty Ltd

Michael Worthington General Manager Timbercorp Agribusiness Investment Managers

Rob Robson Chief Executive Officer One-Harvest

Andrew Young Chief Executive Officer Brismark, BML

Nigel Garrard Managing Director SPC Ardmona

David Holman Director John Holman & Company

Government representatives

Cliff Samson Deputy Secretary

Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

John Chapman

General Manager (Horticulture and Forestry Science)

Queensland Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries

Further media inquiries:

Minister McGauran's office: Patrick Clancy 02 6277 7520 © Commonwealth of Australia 2002-2007 | Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry | Other DAFF Ministers | Prime Minister's website