Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
8 students receiove Australian Vocational Student Prize in Wannon.

Download PDFDownload PDF

David Hawker MP Federal Member for Wannon Electorate Office: 190 Gray Street, Hamilton, Vic., 3300 Ph: (03) 5572 1100 or Local Call 1300 131 692 Fax: (03) 55 72 1141 Email: Web:

Media Release The Hon David Hawker MP Speaker of the House of Representatives Federal Member for Wannon

25 November 2005


Member for Wannon David Hawker, was delighted to announce today local winners of the inaugural Australian Vocational Student Prize.

The $2000 Prize will be awarded to eight students from across Wannon, for demonstrating exceptional skills, commitment and achievement while undertaking a Vocational Education and Training in Schools programme, or a School-based New Apprenticeship.

“The establishment of the Prize for Year 12 students is an important initiative by the Australian Government which is providing $1 million each year for four years for the new award. This commitment recognises vocational education and training as a valuable and desirable pathway for students,” Mr Hawker said.

“The Australian Vocational Student Prize complements the Australian Student Prize which recognises academic excellence.

“Vocational education pathways in schools allow students, as part of their senior secondary school certificate, to study towards accredited Vocational Education and Training qualifications.

“Students develop a greater understanding of the world of work as well as gain industry specific skills and experience to assist with planning and pursuing their career pathways.”

“I warmly congratulate each of these talented and dedicated students on their achievement and wish them continued success in their training and careers” Mr Hawker said.

Mr Hawker will be presenting certificates to each of the winners at their schools during the week beginning 12th December.

Note: Please find a list of recipients, their schools and school contact details following.

Recipients of the Australian Vocational Student Prize in Wannon

Student Title Student First name

Student Last name Certificate/ Program Level of Study School Principal's Name

Mr Timothie Hitchcock Hospitality Certificate II

Baimbridge College Mr Tony Speed

Miss Rebecca Jenkins Hospitality

Certificate II & III

Brauer Secondary College Mr Michael Cusick

Miss Emily Sherman Hairdressing

Certificate II & III Lake Bolac College

Mrs Clare Kaczkowski

Miss Amelia Sherman Horticulture Certificate II

Lake Bolac College

Mrs Clare Kaczkowski

Mr Timothy Phillips

Building Construction Certificate II Mercy Regional College Mr Andrew Watson

Mr Kelvin Neal Multimedia Certificate III

Monivae College Mr Bernard Neal

Mr Thomas McKenzie Multimedia

Certificate II & III Terang College Mr Peter Auchettl

Mr Jarrod Ward Music

Certificate II, III Timboon P-12

Mr. Michael Lee-Ack

Media contact: Jane Templeton (03) 5572 1100