Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Appointments to Visions of Australia Committee.

The Minister for Communications, the Information Economy and the Arts, Senator Richard Alston, today announced the three-year appointment of Dr Christopher Anderson, Director of the Museum of South Australia, as Chairman of the Visions of Australia Committee.

"The appointment has been welcomed by the museum sector and highlights Visions of Australia's role in touring exhibitions of natural and social history materials," Senator Alston said.

Senator Alston also announced the appointment of Mr Alan Dodge (Director, Art Gallery of Western Australian), Mr Ross Gibbs (Director and Keeper of Public Records, Victoria) and Ms Bernice Murphy (Director, Museum of Contemporary Art) to the Committee.

"In the modern Australian cultural sector it is particularly important that key industry leaders participate in the design and management of cultural programs," Senator Alston said.

"I would also like to take the opportunity to thank retiring Committee members, particularly the Chairman, Mr Noel Turnbull of Turnbull Porter Novelli in Melbourne."

About 2.5 million Australians have seen exhibitions assisted by the Visions program at 335 venues in every State and Territory.

"In the last two years it has become apparent that Visions of Australia has had a major impact on the forward planning of exhibitions in Australia. This has brought considerable cost benefits to museums, galleries, science centres and botanic gardens, national trusts and many small historical societies and incorporated arts groups," Senator Alston said.

Media contacts:

Terry O'Connor, Minister's Office, 02 6277 7480 or 0419 636 879


Visions Committee- New Appointments

Dr Christopher Anderson Director of the South Australian Museum, SA. Dr Anderson is also a Visiting Research Fellow in the Department of Anthropology at the University of Adelaide, a member of the Australian National Committee of the International Council of Museums, Vice-President and Chairperson of the Pacific Arts Association, and Vice-President of Museums Australia. Dr Anderson has published extensively, curated a number of significant exhibitions including Dreamings: The Art of Aboriginal Australia which toured to the United States.

Mr Alan Dodge - Director and CEO, Art Gallery of Western Australia. Mr Dodge is currently a Board Member of the Research Institute for Cultural Heritage, Curtin University and has over thirty years experience in the visual arts.

Mr Ross Gibbs Director of the Public Record Office, Victoria Mr Gibbs is also Chair of the RMIT University Information Services Course Committee, President Australian Council of Archives and a Member of the Cultural Ministers' Council Archives Working Group.

Ms Bernice Murphy Director, Museum of Contemporary Art, NSW. Ms Murphy has been closely involved in the development and realisation of the MCA, has lectured on art theory and history and published widely, and has worked on projects in Australia and internationally. Ms Murphy is also a member of the International Council of Museums.

Remaining Committee members are:

Mr Ron Brent, Director, National Film and Sound Archive, ACT

Ms Seva Frangos, Cultural Consultant, WA

Ms Jacqueline Healy, Director, Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory

Ms Alice-Anne McRobbie, Director, Cairns Regional Gallery, QLD

Ms Subi Mead, General Manager, Salamanca Arts Centre, TAS

Mr John Moriarty, Co-owner and Company Director, Jurnbana Pty Ltd, NSW