Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Coonabarabran benefits from Newell Highway upgrading program.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Home Media Centre   Media Releases   Subscribe   Speeches   Media Links Ministers Department Search Index Help

20 July 2000 A115/2000


The Federal Government today announced a five-year upgrading program for the Newell Highway in New South Wales, including a series of overtaking lanes, bridgeworks and safety improvements south of Coonabarabran.

The Member for Gwydir and Federal Minister for Transport and Regional Services, John Anderson, said the highway upgrading would strengthen inter-regional commerce, promote tourism and serve the interstate road freight sector.

"Coonabarabran and the Warrumbungle Ranges are becoming popular tourist destinations in their own right, not just something to be experienced while passing through to somewhere else," said Mr Anderson, who is visiting Gilgandra today.

"The highway improvements will make highway travel safe and efficient. The bypass will help make Coonabarabran a more attractive place to stay or shop. Motel clients, in particular, will appreciate less highway noise once trucks are diverted from John Street."

Mr Anderson confirmed that the Newell Highway Upgrading Program includeed planning for realignment of the Newell Highway-Oxley Highway junction, north of town and a series of overtaking lanes between Coonabarabran and Gilgandra to improve safety and ease traffic bunching along the highway through the foothills of the Warrumbungle Range.

The location of these passing lanes are:

north of Wallumburrawang Creek (northbound); ● south of Wallumburrawang Creek (southbound); ● north of Greenbah Creek (northbound); ● south of Greehbah Creek (southbound); and ●

Belah Creek, 75 km north of Gilgandra (southbound). ●

The Wallumburrawang Creek will be widened at a cost of $2 million.

Media Contact: Paul Chamberlin: (02) 6277 7680 / (0419) 233 989

Top of Page

Please direct general design and content comments to: For technical comments, please eMail:

© Commonwealth of Australia 2000 Last updated:  Thursday, 20 July 2000