Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Tennis writer Alan Trengove honoured at media awards.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Tennis writer Alan Trengove honoured at media awards

Author, broadcaster and journalist, Alan Trengove was one of several journalists and broadcasters recognised this evening at the fourth annual Australian Sports Commission Media Awards held at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra.

The Federal Minister for the Arts and Sport, Senator Rod Kemp, congratulated Trengove for his contribution to the sport of tennis.

“Alan Trengove is Australia’s and one of the world’s most respected tennis writers with the highest possible integrity,” Senator Kemp said. “his elegant prose on the great game of tennis has graced the pages of tennis publications and newspapers throughout the world for more than 50 years.”

Amongst the hundreds who gathered to pay tribute to Trengove’s achievements was friend, former AIS scholarship holder and one half of the world’s most successful doubles pairing, Todd Woodbridge.

Winner of the ASC’s other major award, Best Reporting of an Issue in Australian Sport, went to Inside Sport’s Neil Jameson for his article entitled ‘Professional Foul’. Jameson’s article examines the new era of full-time professionalism and the spate of poor off-field behaviour experienced in the last few seasons. He suggests it is the result of young men, often with limited education and life experience, suddenly finding themselves with a good income and too much time on their hands.

The award for Best Journalism on Australian Sports Commission-related Programs went to The Sydney Morning Herald’s Jacquelin Magnay for her Good Weekend magazine feature ‘Wired World of Sports’. In it Magnay reveals in detail the use of cutting edge technology at the Australian Institute of Sport, in particular the AIS’s use of micro-technology. Magnay went further to explain for readers just what advantage Australian athletes were receiving from this home-grown technology.

The Australian Sports Commission Media Award for Best Sports Photography was awarded to TheHeraldSun’s Nicole Garmston for her photographic series ‘Bird Strike’ depicting the chaos and carnage of a flock of seagulls that spooked a field of horses as they turned into the home straight during a race at Sandown race course.

Winners in the 2005 Australian Sports Commission Media Awards were selected from a record number of entries from television and radio stations, newspapers and magazines across the country.

A full list of award winners is attached.

CANBERRA 30 November 2005 Media contact: Michael Christo, Minister’s Office, 02 6277 7350 or 0409 040 276 Simon Langford, ASC, 02 6214 1298 or 0418 605 541

2004 Australian Sports Commission Media Awards - Winners

Category 1 - Best Reporting of an Issue in Australian Sport

Name Title Organisation Status

Neil Jameson Professional Foul Inside Sport Winner

Category 2 - Best Commitment to the Coverage of Sport

Name Title Organisation Status

Hans Reimer, Darryl Smith, Dennis Browne, Phil Herden and Paul Blandis

South Australian local football coverage

RPH Adelaide Winner

Grandstand Unit Grandstand Coverage ABC Radio Highly


SBS Sport Cycling central SBS TV Highly


Category 3 - Best Profiling of an Athlete or Team

Name Title Organisation Status

Angus Fontaine The Warrior Within ACP/Inside Cricket Winner

Wendy Page, John Bean, Kim Lord and Ian Harley

In realms of gold ABC TV Highly


Category 4 - Best Sports Journalism from Rural, Regional or Suburban Media

Name Title Organisation Status

Kim Sporton The Club (Zebra


Fairfax Community Network Winner

Christopher James Mitchell The stuff tennis dreams are made of

The Wangaratta Chronicle Highly Commended

Category 5 - Best Journalism on Community Sport

Name Title Organisation Status

Brad McEwan Local Hero Network Ten Winner

Liz Hobday The Street


ABC TV Highly


Category 6 - Best Journalism on ASC-related programs

Name Title Organisation Status

Jacquelin Magnay Wired World of Sports Sydney Morning Herald Winner

Chris Kimball Flexible Dreaming ABC TV Highly


Category 7 - Best Sports Photography

Name Title Organisation Status

Nicole Garmston Bird Strike Herald Sun Winner

Joe Armao Jockey Tumble The Age Highly


Michael Dodge Jet boat Houdini’s Herald Sun Highly


Nic Ellis Cold Putt at Dawn The West Australian Highly


Andy Zakeli Over and Out Fairfax Highly