Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
New appointments to Federal Police Disciplinary Tribunal.

Download PDFDownload PDF




ATTORNEY- GENERAL ___________________________________________________


THE HON DARYL WILLIAMS AM QC MP ___________________________________________________

9 October 2001 1069


I am pleased to announce the appointments of the Hon Justice Susan Kiefel and the Hon Justice Mark Weinberg as Deputy Presidents of the Federal Police Disciplinary Tribunal.

The main function of the Tribunal is to determine charges for breach of discipline by members of the Australian Federal Police and appeals arising out of findings made or penalties imposed by the Commissioner of Police.

Justice Kiefel has been a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia since 1994. Prior to her appointment to that Court, she had been a Judge of the Supreme Court of Queensland. Justice Kiefel was admitted to practise in 1975 and was in private practice as a barrister in Brisbane until her appointment to the Queensland Supreme Court in 1993. She was appointed as a Queen’s Counsel in 1987.

Justice Weinberg has been a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia since 1998. Prior to his appointment as a Judge, Justice Weinberg practised at the Victorian Bar specialising in the areas of criminal law, commercial law and administrative law. From 1988 to 1991, he was the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions. Justice Weinberg was appointed a Queen’s Counsel in 1986.

Both appointments are for a term of five years.

Media contact: Catherine Fitzpatrick (02) 6277 7300/ 0419 423 965 Join our media e-mail list and receive the Attorney-General’s media releases electronically. Subscribe at