Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
New chairman of the CSIRO Board.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Contact Julie Bishop | Search

Media Release

New Chairman of the CSIRO Board

18 December 2006

The Minister for Education, Science and Training, the Hon Julie Bishop MP, today announced the appointment of Mr Peter Willcox as the new Chairman of the CSIRO Board, effective from 1 January 2007.

“Mr Willcox, who has been a member of the CSIRO Board since 16 February 2006, will bring a wealth of experience to the CSIRO Chairman position,” Minister Bishop said.

Minister Bishop said Mr Willcox’s wide ranging industry experience is also complemented by his scientific background which included a degree in physics from the University of Cambridge.

Mr Willcox has substantial industry experience gained from an executive career in the international petroleum industry and, more recently, through having served on the boards of many of Australia’s top companies across a range of sectors.

He is presently serving as Chair of Mayne Pharma Limited, is a director of Telstra Corporation Limited and a member of the Advisory Board of CVC in Asia Pacific.

“I would like to congratulate Mr Wilcox on his appointment to this challenging role and look forward to working with him to further develop CSIRO as Australia’s pre-eminent research organisation,” Minister Bishop said.

Minister Bishop also acknowledged the outstanding contribution made by the current Chair Ms Catherine Livingstone.

“Ms Livingstone has played a major role in refocussing CSIRO’s corporate strategy during her tenure as Chair,” Minister Bishop said.

Media Contacts: Minister Bishop’s Office: Murray Hansen 0417 886 155 Dept of Education, Science & Training: Media Unit 02 6240 8363

Non-media queries 1300 363 079

Media Centre Email this page Print this page

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy Statement