Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
University of Tasmania wins national award.

Download WordDownload Word



Media Release

The Hon Dr David Kemp, MP

Minister for Education, Training, and Youth Affairs



23 November, 1998

A computer help desk project designed to assist students living off campus has resulted in a national award for the University of Tasmania presented tonight by the Minister for Education, Training and Youth Affairs, Dr David Kemp.

The university was recognised for the second year running in the Award for Services to Australian Students category resulting in a grant of $50,000. The University of Tasmania was declared Award joint winner with the University of Queensland.

"The University of Tasmania is to be congratulated for using information technology services to assist students who live away from main campuses, and their efforts to make it easier for those living in rural and remote areas to be part of the university," said Dr Kemp.

A total of 11 individual teaching awards were presented, as well as an award for Australian University Teacher of the Year, won by Ms Angela Carbone, an assistant lecturer in computer sciences at Monash University in Victoria.

Mr Shekar Bose from the Australian Maritime College in Launceston was a finalist in the individual teaching category for Agriculture and Animal Husbandry.

The state was further represented with local student Sharon Groenewege from the University of Tasmania's Burnie campus participating on the selection committee for the awards.

"These awards highlight the vital importance of creative, innovative teaching as an integral part of students’ success at university and in later work and learning," said Dr Kemp.

"University teachers bring a range of highly developed and diverse skills to their classrooms and these achievements need to be recognised and rewarded, just as the successes of those they are teaching are recognised."

The Australian Awards for University Teaching were established last year to celebrate excellence in university teaching as well as promote innovative and practical approaches to the provision of student services.

"While awards have often traditionally focussed on research based achievements, the Teaching Awards acknowledge the difference made by the many teachers who convey to others their own passion, enthusiasm and knowledge and bring to life subjects that at the same time demand rigour and intellect," said Dr Kemp.

"The Government is committed to providing the highest possible standard of education across all areas of university life."

  • Winners and Finalists
  • Institutional Awards

Media contact for winners : Frances Dart 0412 008 801

Media contact for Dr Kemp: Samantha Herron 02 6277 7460 or 0412 639 754