Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Best of the best: 2001 Air Force Awards.

Download PDFDownload PDF

MEDIA RELEASE The Hon. Danna Vale, MP Minister Assisting the Minister for Defence


21 May 2002 MIN 239/02

MIN 239/02 Tuesday, 21 May, 2002

BEST OF THE BEST: 2001 AIR FORCE AWARDS The Minister Assisting the Minister for Defence, Danna Vale tonight praised the dedication and commitment to service shown by the winners of the 2001 Air Force Awards.

The 2001 Air Force Awards honour the best Airman, Officer Trainee, Unit, Squadron, Maintenance Unit and Base. Fiercely contested, the awards recognise the practical application of Air Force values.

"These awards provide tangible, public recognition for Royal Australian Air Force personnel honoured for their outstanding service in 2001," Minister Vale said.

"The selection guidelines for the Awards presented tonight highlight the commitment, dedication and service required of the winners.

"The award recipients have all demonstrated a quality of service above and beyond the high standards already set by RAAF personnel and the units and squadrons in which they serve," she said.

Minister Vale said it was timely to honour RAAF personnel for their proficiency and leadership at a time when the Air Force as a whole was working hard on a number of international, regional and domestic operations.

"It is extremely pleasing to see that, despite this wide scale commitment, Air Force personnel haven’t been deterred from striving to do even better. As a result the 2001 Air Force Awards are now recognising their efforts.

"Air Force values its people, and it is the people who enable the Air Force to deliver an aerospace defence capability to Australia.

"Competition was tough during the past year and the winners should be proud that they won over an outstanding field of candidates in each category," Minister Vale said.

Note for Editors and Chiefs of Staff:

A list of the successful winners is attached

Media Contact:

Rachael Thompson 02 6277 7820 or 0417 265 289






Royal Australian Air Force - Award Winners 2001 The Air Force Association Trophy (Most Proficient Reserve Squadron) No. 26 (City of Newcastle) Squadron, ❍ ●

RAAF Base Williamtown, NSW The Hawker Siddeley Trophy (Most Proficient RAAF Base) RAAF Base Pearce, West Australia ❍ ●

The Duke of Gloucester Cup (Most proficient Squadron) No. 37 Squadron ❍ ●

RAAF Base Richmond, NSW The Markowski Cup (Most accomplished RAAF Unit) RAAF Security and Fire School ❍ ●

RAAF Base Amberley, Queensland The RAAF Maintenance Trophy (Most Proficient RAAF Maintenance Unit) No. 2 Operational Conversion Unit ❍ ●

RAAF Base Williamtown, NSW Air Vice-Marshal Dietz Memorial Quality and Achievement Medallion (Outstanding Performance in Logistic Support)

Warrant Officer Gary Glazier, RAAF Base Richmond, NSW ❍ Doctor Graham Clark, Aeronautical and Maritime Research Laboratory, Defence Science & Technology Organisation, Victoria ❍


The ADI Leadership Award (Outstanding Leadership and Officer Qualities at Initial Officer Training School) 2000 - Flight Lieutenant David Wilkie, RAAF Base Edinburgh, South Australia ❍ 2001 - Flying Officer Jonathan McMullan, RAAF Base East Sale, Victoria ❍


Air Vice-Marshal Eaton Airman of the Year Award Leading Aircraftsman Aaron Agnew, 11 Squadron RAAF Base Edinburgh, South Australia ❍



No. 37 Squadron, winner of the Duke of Gloucester Cup (most proficient Squadron), has played a major role in the introduction of the new C-130J Hercules into service with the Air Force. Testing conducted by Air Force with the C-130J is providing information that is helping other users of the type

to introduce the new model into service. This has been a truly remarkable achievement by 37 SQN and they are well deserving of the award.



Receive media releases automatically via email. Register your address at

[ Defence Home ] [ back to top ]