Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Forbes primary producer to advise Federal Government.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Parliament House, Canberra ACT 2600

Forbes Primary Producer to Advise Federal Government

A61/2003 16th June 2003

The Federal Government has appointed Forbes primary producer Ronald Penny as the new chairperson of an important regional advisory body, the Central West Area Consultative Committee (ACC).

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Transport and Regional Services, John Anderson, announced the appointment today.

“Mr Penny is a producer in the Forbes District, the Chief Executive Officer of the Saleyards Operators Association of NSW, and an executive member of the National Saleyards Association of Australia,” Mr Anderson said.

“He has an broad knowledge of the region, business expertise and will be an excellent chairperson of the committee.

“The Government’s network of Area Consultative Committees is an immensely valuable resource for regional Australia, because they are a key link between the Federal Government and local communities.

“The ACCs will play an even more important role in the future. We have decided to integrate our regional grant programmes, except Sustainable Regions, to make them simpler and more flexible. The ACCs will provide the Government with their views on all the applications under the new package, to make sure that the projects are well-developed and consistent with the priorities set by each region.

“They are another example of our partnership approach, which is enabling communities to determine their own priorities and put together local solutions to address them.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Acting Chair, David Mills, for his contribution to the committee and the region,” Mr Anderson said.

Mr Penny has been appointed for a two-year term. The Central West Area Consultative Committee covers the local government areas of Lachlan, Parkes, Bland, Forbes, Weddin, Cowra, Cabonne, Orange, Blayney, Bathurst, Evans, Oberon, Greater Lithgow, Rylstone and Mudgee.

Media contacts Bill McKinley 02 6277 7680

Ph: 02 6277 7680 Email: Fax: 02 6273 4126