Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Expert committee on school drug education announced.

Download WordDownload Word




Media Release



Senator the Hon. Christopher Ellison

Minister for Schools, Vocational Education and Training

Senator for Western Australia


22 April 1998





Senator Chris Ellison, Federal Minister for Schools, Vocational Education and Training, today announced the membership of an expert national committee set up to develop and promote a national strategy on schools drug education, which includes a goal of no illicit drugs in schools (a membership list is attached).


Senator Ellison said the National Advisory Committee on Schools Drug Education, which met for the first time in Modbury, South Australia today, was the first national education Committee set up to deal with drug education in schools.


“The Committee will play a key role in the Prime Minister's Tough on Drugs National Illicit Drugs Strategy and provide expert advice on schools drug education matters to the Australian National Council on Drugs, recently launched by the Prime Minister.


“Ms Karyn Hart, Principal of Rochedale High School in Brisbane and President of the Australian Secondary Principals Association, will Chair the Committee” Senator Ellison said.


Ms Hart has also been appointed by the Prime Minister to the Australian National Council on Drugs.


"Members of the Committee bring strong experience and expertise from education, parents groups, law enforcement agencies, community groups and the health sector.


“Both the government and non-government school sectors are well represented as are all of the States and Territories


Senator Ellison said that the Federal Government is committed to a national goal of no illicit drugs in Australian schools.


“Through the Schools Drug Education Strategy we are aiming to educate this generation of students about the dangers of using drugs.


The strategy will provide a national framework for drug education Australian schools and complement existing initiatives in States and Territories.


Some elements of the strategy are:

·  identification of national best practice in drug education

·  improvement of access to drug education best practice models enhancing the range of suitable curriculum material

·  professional development for teachers

·  identifying and addressing areas of particular need



Stephanie Wood, Senator Ellison’s office, 0412 257 563.




Members of the National Advisory Committee on Schools Drug Education



Ms Karyn Hart: Principal Rochedale High School, Brisbane; and President of the Australian Secondary Principals Association; Member ol’ the Australian Council on Drugs (Qld)


Associate Professor Steve Allsop: Director of the National Centre for Education and Training on Addiction (NCETA.), (SA)


Mr Rod Ballard: Coordinator Health Issues, Education Services Directorate, Queensland Department of Education (Qld)


Mr Peter Collier; Teacher, Scotch College, Perth; and Member of State Youth Advisory Committee; (WA)


Mr Richard Crane: Coordinator, School Drug Education Project, (WA)


Ms Eleanor Davidson: Executive Director, Student Services and Equity Programs, NSW Department of Education and Training (NSW)


Ms June Hicks: Coordinator Health and Physical Education and Technology, Caroline Chisholm High School, ACT; and National Health Coordinator for the Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation (ACT)


Ms Mary Johnston: Department of Employment, Education, Training and Youth Affairs (ex officio) (Commonwealth) Department of Employment, Technical and Further Education, (SA)


Ms Maria Mariner: Edcuation Officer, Health and Drug Education, NT Education Department (NT)


Ms Bernadette Murphy: Senior Teacher, St Colombia’s College, Essendon, (Vic)


Mr Leslie (Les) Nayda AM:  Director, Aboriginal Employment, Education & Development Branch, Department of Employment, Technical and Further Education, (SA)


Mrs Julie Roberts: Senior Vice President, Council of State School Organisations (Tas)


Inspector Malcolm Schulter: President, lndependent Schools Parents Council of South Australia and Police Inspector and Officer in Charge of the Southern Command Response Division Sturt Police Centre, (SA)


Mrs Janice Szmal: President, Victorian Primary Principals Association (Vic)


Ms Margaret Sykes: Education Officer, Student Welfare Programs, Catholic Education Commission,



Mr Michael Urwin: Principal, Brighton Grammar School, (Vic)


Ms Laurie Van Veen: Department of Health and Family Services (Commonwealth)


Ms Elaine Walters: Community member with involvement in schools drug education. Ms Walters lives in Melbourne. (Vic)