Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Andren calls for Australia Day nominations.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Peter Andren MP - Independent Member for Calare

M e d i


R e l e a

s e

26 October 2001

Andren Calls for Australia Day Nominations

Calare residents are being urged to nominate outstanding individuals in the local community for The Australian of the Year Award by Member for Calare Peter Andren.

“I encourage people to nominate those who have made a real difference in their community for this award, designed to recognise individuals who make exceptionable contributions to Australian society, either nationally or internationally,” Mr Andren said.

“National role models and inspirational Australians who have received this honour in the past include Peter Cosgrove, Cathy Freeman, Dawn Fraser and Arthur Boyd.

“The recipient of the Award is selected from public nominations, so this is an excellent chance for the community to have their say in recognising an outstanding Australian.

The Australian of the Year will be announced by the Prime Minister on 25 January 2002. Nominees must be Australian citizens residing in Australia and nominations close on Friday 23 November.

Nomination forms are available form any Commonwealth Bank Branch or the National Australia Day Council on 1300 655 193. You can also nominate online at

“If you know someone whose efforts are worthy of this recognition, I encourage you to nominate them for this prestigious award,” Mr Andren added.

For more information, Peter Andren: 02 6332 6229 or 041 961 2991