Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Health and ageing projects win national awards.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Senator the Hon Santo Santoro Minister for Ageing


27 November 2006 SS103/06

Health and ageing projects win national awards

The efforts of three local councils to promote better health and plan for the ageing of their communities have been recognised in the 2006 National Awards for Local Government.

The three councils were winners in two categories of the awards sponsored by the Australian Department of Health and Ageing. They received their awards from the Minister for Ageing, Senator Santo Santoro, at a gala evening at Old Parliament House in Canberra.

In the ‘Health and Wellbeing’ category, Rockingham City Council (WA) was the overall winner while Swan Hill Rural City Council (Victoria) won the small or rural council award.

The Swan Hill Rural City Council project focused on meeting its community’s need for better understanding of depression and mental illness, to address the growing suicide rate. The Rockingham City Council’s project aimed to improve local health and wellbeing through development and implementation of a long-term strategic health framework.

The award for “Planning for an Ageing Community” went to Lake Macquarie City Council (NSW) for its project, ‘Over 55 and Understood’, which researched older people’s preferences for goods and services and informed local businesses of this potential market. The proportion of Lake Macquarie’s population aged 55 or more is expected to increase from

25 per cent of the total population in 2005 to 39 per cent in 2022.

“The Department of Health and Ageing has proudly sponsored these awards for the past four years to support and showcase the outstanding work being done by local governments,” Senator Santoro said. “Although health and ageing issues can be difficult and complex, sometimes the best solutions come from the community level.”

The National Awards for Local Government are administered by the Department of Transport and Regional Services.


Suite M 1.46 • Parliament House • Canberra ACT 2600 • Tel: (02) 6277 7280 • Fax: (02) 6273 4138 ---