Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Government thanks Telstra directors.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Senator the Hon. Richard Alston Minister for Communications,  Information Technology and the Arts

The Hon. John Fahey, MP Minister for Finance & Administration


GOVERNMENT THANKS TELSTRA DIRECTORS  The Minister for Finance and Administration, John Fahey MP, and the Minister for Communications, Information Technology and the Arts, Senator Richard Alston today acknowledged the decision of Telstra directors Mr Chris Roberts, Mr Stephen Vizard and Ms Cecilia Moar not to stand for re-election at the company's Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 17 November 2000.

Both Ministers paid tribute to the roles played by these directors during a time of increasing competition in the telecommunications industry and thanked them for the assistance they provided to the Government in the recent Telstra 2 Share Offer.

Mr Roberts has brought a considerable depth and breadth of corporate experience to the Telstra Board and made a very significant contribution to its deliberations over almost a decade. Mr Vizard’s knowledge and experience in a range of media sectors, particularly in new media, has been of invaluable assistance to the Board for more than four years during a time of very significant change. Ms Moar has brought a very valuable rural and regional perspective to the Board and the Government is delighted that she will continue to play an important role for Telstra as a member of the Advisory Board of Telstra Country Wide.

"The Government expresses its appreciation to Mr Roberts, Mr Vizard and Ms Moar for their significant contributions and wishes them well in the future," the Ministers said.

The Ministers also welcomed the nominations of Mr Sam Chisholm, Mr John Fletcher and Ms Catherine Livingstone and the decision of Deputy Chair John Ralph to stand for re-election at Telstra's AGM.

28 September 2000

Media Enquiries

Minister Fahey: Paul Edwards Phone 0412 005 589 or 02 6277 7400 Minister Alston: David Quilty Phone 0419 421 803